Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Pefect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I like to make this for when I have guests over and serve it with some garlic pita chips, carrots sticks, and sugar snap peas. I follow the changes updated by the author in his review and it turns out perfect. The garlic flavor does come out a bit more after a few hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So good! I am never buying store-bought again! I did add less salt, and I am not really sure how much lemon juice I put in, because I just squeezed a whole lemon into it. I did put in two cloves of garlic instead of one. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
One small issue is that I find garbanzo beans in 15.5oz cans-not 19oz. It seems like it comes out fine anyway.. I loved using the roasted and smashed (I haveno proper grinder) cumin was a very nice touch. I have to agree with Sarah on the name, and would suggest you call it after the city/town/village from which your family came do many generations ago, or great granma's. In any case, I do like this recipe, and I wonder how many other people have used 15.5 oz. cans and not even realized it? A fresh cilantro garnish is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Too much lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! We have made it many times and it is so much cheaper than buying hummus. Plus, it tastes better and you can tweak it any way you like to add variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
For my taste, three tablespoons of lemon juice was way too much. I'm sure it's an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wonderful base...I used two 15oz cans of chick peas, put one in with all the water and one I drained the water because I like my hummus a little bit creamier. Ran that through the food processor, then added everything else a little bit at a time to taste. It came out perfect. I would agree though that doing this in a blender might not work, and that a food processor is the better way to go...this recipe would have destroyed my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I read the recipe update and followed those directions to make my hummus. It was PERFECT. We took it to a dinner party with good friends. Some of the guys there travel extensively with their jobs and they have had a lot of experience with non-American food. They were all very complimentary! Thank you for a great recipe that we will use again and again. (: Btw, the cumin really sets it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
i've tried many hummus recipes. this one is definitely a keeper. just like in our favorite restaurants. now i can stop looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States