Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wow! This was awesome! Put it in a little plastic container and just let DH assume it came from the little Lebanese deli down the street. They make incredible hummus, but it's expensive, esp. compared to the value in this recipe. Pretty much followed as written in the update, more or less eyeballed stuff then adjusted to taste. Followed tips by other reviewers: cooked the beans in a pot for about 15 mins., in their own juice plus just a tiny bit of water, then scrubbed/pulled off the outer hulls after they cooled A pain to be sure, but these two things made for some seriously smooth hummus using my food processor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is so good and so easy to make. Sometimes I add a few jalapeno slices. I wouldn't think of buying hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used no black pepper, more garlic (love garlic!) and less salt. Best recipe I've found. Great as a base to make your own flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a pretty good hummus. I use less liquid because I like it a little thicker, and less salt. This is the base for any great hummus flavor...just add some roasted red peppers or other veggies. Kids will eat it even with greens in it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I've tried other recipes for hummus and always ended up throwing most of it away, not with this one. Really simple and good. I used the 3 tbsp on tahini like the author recommended in her update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is a good basic guideline for hummus.. as suggested by others it is easily tweaked to suit individual preferences (more lemon, garlic, salt, cumin, etc). ABOUT THE SALT: I noticed many reviewers complained about it being too salty, so I was cautious when adding salt.. I ended up including the full amount (1tsp) and still did not find the hummus salty at all. I wonder if the people who had trouble with this were using canned chick peas with added salt.. It is important to look at the ingredients in canned goods. Unless it is specifically stated "no salt added," most canned foods have A LOT of salt added in already... I would imagine hummus made with salty chick peas + salty water from the can + additional teaspoon of salt would in fact turn out very salty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
WAYYYY TOO MUCH SALT REQUIRED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Good base to start. The only thing I would suggest is to totally leave out the salt, it just isn't necessary with the lemon juice. I follow the rest of the recipe, including the author's suggestion of adding cumin (which I almost double), and I add 1/2 a fresh jalepeno. Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Never thought to use the can-bean water. This was the most successfull Hummus I have ever made. I doubled the recipe and then divided that in thirds. Left one plain. Stired roasted pepper/egplant spread from Sprouts in another, and pureed ONE chipotle in adobo in the third. All were winners. The Key is to whirl in the processor for a really long time. OH...added a bit of extra garlic and also white pepper to the plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States