Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
It's good as it, but I use it as a base and go from there. My favorite proportions are: 2 cloves garlic, 1 can (15 oz.) beans, 4 TB lemon, 3 TB tahini, salt as needed. Also, I use cumin instead of pepper. For a fun twist, I sometimes add roasted red pepper (from a jar). One thing I think is important is to drain and rinse your beans, and use regular water instead of the can juice. It makes the beans taste fresher, and I don't use much water anyway. My kids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I make this hummus quite often. I often add roasted red peppers also. My biggest suggestion is to place the garbanzo beans in a shallow bowl of water and take the skins off the beans. Just rub them with your fingers and they slip off quite easily. It's a little time consuming but makes for a MUCH creamier hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rainone87
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was really easy to make. I did not have tahini so I baked 1 cup of sesame seeds for 5 minutes then let them cool for about 20 minutes. I blended in food processor with olive oil. I stored in 1 cup mason jar which still has 3/4 of tahini after I made this recipe. I added 2 cloves of garlic instead of one since I love garlic. I tried adding the cumin instead of pepper and 3 tablespoons of tahini instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow, real hummus is amazing!! I followed the recipe before reading the reviews, and it came out perfectly. I used a 15 oz can of garbanzo beans (because that was the only size I saw), 2 Tbsp tahini, 1 tsp salt, juice of one lemon, 2 cloves of garlic, and about half of the liquid from the can of beans. I haven't garnished it yet, but it tastes delicious - the best hummus I've ever tried! If I do say so myself :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
It was my first time making hummus. I doubled the garlic, reduced the salt, added reserved juices and lemon juice to taste, and offered extra olive oil on the side for my guests. Making more tomorrow and will try cumin instead of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I tried this as written and it was just OK. After reading several of the other user's reviews, I decided to make the following changes: - Nuke the chickpeas in the microwave for three minutes. - Pop them out of the casing by simply squeezing the pea slightly between two fingers. (this is a little bit time consuming - took all of 10 minutes or so - but was WELL worth it. The consistency is MUCH smoother. - Add a bit of cumin. - Cut back on the lemon juice to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe! I'm so excited how it turned out. A few adjustments, I made it with dry chickpeas (bought a big bag and needed to a way to finish it). I only added on clove of garlic which was strong enough, I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice then added more to taste and thanks to HORTA's review I went easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So much better than anything store bought! I did as ROYHOBBS updated recipe suggestion said and omitted the pepper,substituted cumin and added the extra TBS of tahini (3TBS total). In addition, since we prefer things a bit more garlicky and spicy, I added many more cloves of garlic and also some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Since I had never made hummus before, I was looking for a basic recipe that would just tell me how it is done, and this one worked nicely. I didn't have any garlic in the house and I am not a fan of pepper so I omitted both of those. I also used avocado oil and a mix of salt and sugar (instead of just salt) that I had leftover from another recipe. Turns out it was still terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
When I make again, I will cut back the lemon juice (used 2 T and will cut back to less than 1 T). Also, will switch out the pepper for cumin as the author suggests in a later post. Will lighten up on salt also. Very creamy and good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States