Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I had hummus for the first time at the home on an Indian family who'd recently come to the US. I loved it. This is the closest recipe I've found. They used home made tahini but the lady told me that sometimes she couldn't find tahini or sesame seeds, so she used a few drops of sesame oil. Be careful though, the oil is strong and it's easy to over do it. I've used it instead of paying the insane price for tahini. I definitely like the cumin in place of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written only subbing 410g boiled and drained, unsalted chickpeas for the canned variety. I believe the amount of lemon is off, personally. I think that 2 Tbsp of lemon is sufficient. So, as others have suggested, add the lemon gradually. Otherwise, the amounts seem right on. Thank you RoyHobbs for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very good. I had. 15 oz can of the garbanzo beans so cut back just a little bit on rest of the ingredients. I did go with just 3 tablespoons of the lemon juice because I didn't want it to be too lemony. Otherwise it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I love this recipe! Only changes I made were to make my own tahini with the recipe from this site, use 3T of tahini, and roast garlic / red pepper in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I prefer 6 cloves of Garlic VS. Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Micka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Pour off ALL of the liquid from the garbanzo beans in order to keep a thicker consistency and this gets at least four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We loved it! Per other suggestions I added 1/2 tsp salt, otherwise I followed directly taking tips from the authors comments too. I like mine on the thinner side, so I used more of the liquid. I like the lemon so I used the full amount too. Thanks! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I really REALLY love this recipe! Every time I make hummus I always come back to use this recipe. Besides the author's alterations, the only thing I change about the recipe is I always add double the lemon. But I am a citrusy person :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have not made this yet, but i have a question about the tahini for Roy Hobbs and I don't know how you can ask a question of the recipe submitter except to review it: Is the tahini you call for in this recipe tahini that you make yourself, or that you buy already made? I have seen recipes to make tahini, and in my local store they sell "tahine paste". SO I am wondering if there is a big taste difference between making your own and buying a jar of 'paste'. email me at sheiladeee at yahoo dot com, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States