Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
throw away all your other hummus recipes, this one is the best,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I made this for a dinner party people were so disappointed we we ran out of veggies and pita to dip in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
This hummus is so yummy and easy to make! Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
This is the fourth hummous recipe I have tried and this is a keeper. I added more garlic and left the chickpeas slightly lumpy. GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
RECIPE UPDATE I'm the author of this recipe and I wanted to make a few updates. I now use cumin instead of the black pepper. You want 2 cloves of garlic overall. To adjust the texture between creamy and more solid (which is very good also) vary the amount of liquid you drain from the can. The more liquid the creamier, but lately I've been draining all of the can except for 1/2 cup. I now use 3 large tablespoons of Tahini instead of 2. I also take the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and add it gradually as the blending occurs. Peanut Butter is no substitute for Tahini! If you're using peanut butter, you're not eating real hummus. Find it at an international food store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2964 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
i used peanutbutter insread of tahini and it was fine. There was a slight peanut taste to begin with but after two bites you did not notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I'm sorry but this was a disaster, the salt was so strong that we ended up trashing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This is an excellent hummus recipe. Especially good as a sandwich spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I can't believe I had been spending big bucks for hummus! This is fast, easy, inexpensive and GOOD! My whole family, including my thirteen year old, loves it. I didn't have any tahini in the house so I substituted a little peanut butter and some ground sesame seeds to get the nutty flavor. I also added black olives to rave reviews. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Excellent recipe! Simple, straightforward; delicious as written, but also an useful base recipe to get creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States