Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! We have made it many times and it is so much cheaper than buying hummus. Plus, it tastes better and you can tweak it any way you like to add variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
For my taste, three tablespoons of lemon juice was way too much. I'm sure it's an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wonderful base...I used two 15oz cans of chick peas, put one in with all the water and one I drained the water because I like my hummus a little bit creamier. Ran that through the food processor, then added everything else a little bit at a time to taste. It came out perfect. I would agree though that doing this in a blender might not work, and that a food processor is the better way to go...this recipe would have destroyed my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I read the recipe update and followed those directions to make my hummus. It was PERFECT. We took it to a dinner party with good friends. Some of the guys there travel extensively with their jobs and they have had a lot of experience with non-American food. They were all very complimentary! Thank you for a great recipe that we will use again and again. (: Btw, the cumin really sets it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
i've tried many hummus recipes. this one is definitely a keeper. just like in our favorite restaurants. now i can stop looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful hummus! If you can get garlic snapes, they're a great substitute for the sharper garlic. I haven't tried using cumin instead of pepper, but will try that next time. The juice from one whole lemon is usually the right amount & saves you trying to measure fresh lemon juice (a pain!). I use Trader Joe's organic garbanzo beans, but they are made with sea salt, so I only use 1/4 tsp of salt, if any. 4 big Tbsp of tahini gives a nice strong tahini flavor. I also start with only a few Tbsp of the liquid and pour slowly into working food processor until I get the consistency I want. Toasted pine nuts are a nice addition, along with a little paprika. It doesn't need olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I really loved this recipe but made 2 small changes after reading some of the reviews. I only used 3T lemon juice and 1/2tsp of salt. For me this was plenty of tang and salt. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 since I made those changes but this is definitely the best hummus I have made. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Great fast recipe for hummus! I tweaked it a bit (added more garlic and a small onion). I also didn't add the liquid from the beans (I like it thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Great weekly staple in fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Love it with cumin! I also added fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States