Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My first try at homemade hummus was challenging but successful. I used 2 15 oz cans of chickpeas and substituted Key Lime juice. Since using more chickpeas, I gradually added additional ingredients has I blended. Omitted the pepper and added Cumin to taste. Very Tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Excellent!! Followed the updated recipe by the original author and it was amazing!! This is my new go to hummus recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made for my class - they loved it. Also made a variation w/ roasted red peppers, blending half the peppers into the hummus and chopped the rest up as texture/extra flavor. Also I added more tahini than called for. Warning - do not shake your can of tahini no matter how separated it is. Just get equal parts solid and liquid and add them to your food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
First time making hummus! This turned out great! I used about 3-4 Tablespoons of liquid from the can and 1 Tablespoon of olive oil, otherwise followed the recipe as written. Looking forward to trying more hummus recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was okay, but the lemon juice was too much. I'll stick with my regular recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is my go-to hummus recipe. It always gets compliments when I bring it to a party with veggies and homemade pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Delicious, perfect recipe. I love this hummus as is, but I occasionally mix it up with different add-in like roasted red bell peppers, extra garlic or whatever sounds good that day. Very easy to modify to your own liking. Great as a dip, spread, appetizer, or a meal with a few loaves of pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Humus was great! But it was too salty! I too had to throw it away...maybe a different type of salt like kosher it's ok 1 teaspoon...but not regular table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Easy....definitely use less salt. I thought 1 tsp was too much so I cut it down to 3/4 tsp and was still way too much. I ended up using a 2nd can of garbanzo beans. And definitely use a small clove of garlic. I had a larger one and its a bit overwhelming even after the 2nd can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
It's on track, but the garlic and salt taste were really overwhelming for our family. We eat hummus nearly every day, so I decided to make our own. To adjust for our taste, we added an additional can of beans, a little more tahini and lemon juice, skipped the pepper and added a couple sprinkles of cumin instead. It's really quite good now. So in the end, cut the salt in half, skip the pepper, add some cumin and this is a 5 star recipe. We whipped it really, really smooth and topped with a little fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States