Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I've tried other recipes for hummus and always ended up throwing most of it away, not with this one. Really simple and good. I used the 3 tbsp on tahini like the author recommended in her update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is a good basic guideline for hummus.. as suggested by others it is easily tweaked to suit individual preferences (more lemon, garlic, salt, cumin, etc). ABOUT THE SALT: I noticed many reviewers complained about it being too salty, so I was cautious when adding salt.. I ended up including the full amount (1tsp) and still did not find the hummus salty at all. I wonder if the people who had trouble with this were using canned chick peas with added salt.. It is important to look at the ingredients in canned goods. Unless it is specifically stated "no salt added," most canned foods have A LOT of salt added in already... I would imagine hummus made with salty chick peas + salty water from the can + additional teaspoon of salt would in fact turn out very salty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
WAYYYY TOO MUCH SALT REQUIRED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Good base to start. The only thing I would suggest is to totally leave out the salt, it just isn't necessary with the lemon juice. I follow the rest of the recipe, including the author's suggestion of adding cumin (which I almost double), and I add 1/2 a fresh jalepeno. Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Never thought to use the can-bean water. This was the most successfull Hummus I have ever made. I doubled the recipe and then divided that in thirds. Left one plain. Stired roasted pepper/egplant spread from Sprouts in another, and pureed ONE chipotle in adobo in the third. All were winners. The Key is to whirl in the processor for a really long time. OH...added a bit of extra garlic and also white pepper to the plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great recipe, I just tip the whole contents of the chick peas in the blender, it contains just the right amount of liquid, touch more lemon juice and a touch of white pepper, perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
It was missing something???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Very good, easy hummus! I made mine in the Baby Bullet and reduced the amount of lemon to 3 tbsp. to cut back on the lemon flavor just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
The original posted updated to say two garlic cloves are better, so I used two large cloves from a head I just purchased... Way too garlicy! If your garlic isn't fresh or if cloves are smaller, use two. Otherwise, one is probably enough. Otherwise, the mixture is delicious. I will definitely be making many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States