Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Snuffles
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a really delicious hummus. I added some morrocan spices and olive oil on top at the end and had it with pita bread. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snuffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Good. I add cumin and just for personal taste, use significantly less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fresh hummus is so much better tasting than the grocery store stuff! I did a couple of test batches and think the recipe is pretty solid. Make sure to use fresh squeezed lemon juice, though. And maybe reserve a little more of the liquid from the bean can, so you can fine tune the consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is one of the best hummus recipes I have ever had. ALso, it was very simple to make. I doubled the amount of garlic and I added a little bit of vinegar because, well, I like sour and I am a fan of garlic. I also served this with homemade pitas. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent! Perfect blend of flavors. I reduced the salt to half a tsp. and increased the garlic to 2 cloves. I would reduce the fluid, as I prefer a thicker hummus, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wow! This was awesome! Put it in a little plastic container and just let DH assume it came from the little Lebanese deli down the street. They make incredible hummus, but it's expensive, esp. compared to the value in this recipe. Pretty much followed as written in the update, more or less eyeballed stuff then adjusted to taste. Followed tips by other reviewers: cooked the beans in a pot for about 15 mins., in their own juice plus just a tiny bit of water, then scrubbed/pulled off the outer hulls after they cooled A pain to be sure, but these two things made for some seriously smooth hummus using my food processor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is so good and so easy to make. Sometimes I add a few jalapeno slices. I wouldn't think of buying hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used no black pepper, more garlic (love garlic!) and less salt. Best recipe I've found. Great as a base to make your own flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a pretty good hummus. I use less liquid because I like it a little thicker, and less salt. This is the base for any great hummus flavor...just add some roasted red peppers or other veggies. Kids will eat it even with greens in it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States