Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I tried this as written and it was just OK. After reading several of the other user's reviews, I decided to make the following changes: - Nuke the chickpeas in the microwave for three minutes. - Pop them out of the casing by simply squeezing the pea slightly between two fingers. (this is a little bit time consuming - took all of 10 minutes or so - but was WELL worth it. The consistency is MUCH smoother. - Add a bit of cumin. - Cut back on the lemon juice to half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia LaHue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe! I'm so excited how it turned out. A few adjustments, I made it with dry chickpeas (bought a big bag and needed to a way to finish it). I only added on clove of garlic which was strong enough, I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice then added more to taste and thanks to HORTA's review I went easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So much better than anything store bought! I did as ROYHOBBS updated recipe suggestion said and omitted the pepper,substituted cumin and added the extra TBS of tahini (3TBS total). In addition, since we prefer things a bit more garlicky and spicy, I added many more cloves of garlic and also some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Since I had never made hummus before, I was looking for a basic recipe that would just tell me how it is done, and this one worked nicely. I didn't have any garlic in the house and I am not a fan of pepper so I omitted both of those. I also used avocado oil and a mix of salt and sugar (instead of just salt) that I had leftover from another recipe. Turns out it was still terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
When I make again, I will cut back the lemon juice (used 2 T and will cut back to less than 1 T). Also, will switch out the pepper for cumin as the author suggests in a later post. Will lighten up on salt also. Very creamy and good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delicious. Used 3 tbsp tahini and cumin for the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great taste, with minor adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Followed the author's updated suggestions (most helpful review). Fantastic! Definitely tastes so much better than the store-bought stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I guess this hummus recipe was okay... I added a change to the second batch I made because the first batch was too... "Canned Food" tasting. The change was that I used freshly cooked non-canned chickpeas... It came out better, but still overall, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States