Real Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have not made this yet, but i have a question about the tahini for Roy Hobbs and I don't know how you can ask a question of the recipe submitter except to review it: Is the tahini you call for in this recipe tahini that you make yourself, or that you buy already made? I have seen recipes to make tahini, and in my local store they sell "tahine paste". SO I am wondering if there is a big taste difference between making your own and buying a jar of 'paste'. email me at sheiladeee at yahoo dot com, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I'm sorry, I was not a fan, even with the adjustments from the author's comment. Not for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The revised edition of this recipe was a great base to which many things could be added if you want to be creative and don't mind it being less tradition (a swirl of roasted red peppers, or cilantro and lime instead of lemon, etc). I read elsewhere to mix the tahini and lemon juice for a minute or longer first for best consistency, and I think this makes a big difference (from smooth hummus recipe from inspiredtaste.net). Also, I rinse the beans and use low sodium broth instead of liquid from the can to lower sodium content. This recipe is delicious, simple, and cost effective. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I added a pinch of red pepper flakes & paprika, and used 2 garlic cloves. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Amazing recepie! I always wanted to make Humus At home and in the same time to keep it simple. Thanks to the Video, even a bigginer like me can make a delicious Humus. My boyfriend just loves it ! I will make this very often, because it is also amazingly healthy ! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ionescu Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Very tasty - the right mix of tahini and lemon juice (another recipe I had tried had way too much tahini). As suggested by the author in an update, I used cumin instead of pepper and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love it. I didn't have Lemon juice, so I put 2 tablespoons of Lime juice and a tsp of Lemon Pepper. Oh YUM!!! I never have tahini so I use the powdered peanut butter and the amazing taste ????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bunker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The trick to hummus is the order in which you add the ingredients to the food processor. I always add equal parts lemon juice and tahini first and process it. It will whip into a thick light colored creamy paste, which is different than if you just add straight tahini to the mixture. There is no other way to get the same creamy consistency. Then add whatever else in what ever order you want, it won't make much of a difference. Canned and dried chickpeas make an inappreciable difference, and for the amount of work it takes to make dried chickpeas, just buy the can. Cumin and/or paprika are both acceptable spice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the second recipe for hummus from Allrecipes that I've tried, and I like it best. I saw the updates from the author, and used the 3 tbs of tahini, plus added some cumin. I also soaked and boiled dry garbonzos (sooo fast and easy with a digital pressure cooker), so I increased the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. From previous experience I knew two cloves of raw garlic was too strong for me, so I sliced one of them and sauteed in a little of the garlic oil. The other I left raw. I added lemon juice to taste, probably only 2 Tbs. I also added a few sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States