Ratatouille Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband is not always a "vegetable" person and he loved this! I didn't have canned tomatoes or the paste but I did have plenty of fresh tomatoes so I just diced them with a little extra and it turned out just fine. I prefer fresh over canned anyway so I'm going to continue to cook with the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is great! I had a "pastaless" ratatouille recipe from a vegetarian friend of mine that I had lost and this was just as delicious as I remembered hers to be. With the added pasta it made a very nice main dish. I remember that hers also had mushrooms & black olives, so I added those 2 items and the flavors were perfect with this recipe. I also used fresh grated parmesan intead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very fresh and healthy. Just a tip for those who don't want to waste a whole can of tomato paste, put your left over tomato in baggies and freeze. When you're ready to use again, just pop into a bowl and microwave for about 20 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
We made this after seeing the movie Ratatouille, and the kids LOVED it! In fact, I froze 1/2 of the recipe and had it a month later. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I added some kalamata olives and used fresh basil, oregano and 4 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder. This is a a good, simple ratatouille which I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was very good! I made this with a medium sized eggplant and 2 medium zucchini. I added about 6 mushrooms. I used 6 oz. penne pasta. I had 1 can of the fire roasted tomatoes and added about 1/3 jar of pasta sauce since I didn't have any paste. I stirred the cooked pasta into the veggie mixture and put into 9x13 dish. It filled it up! I put the mozz. cheese on top and some parmesan. Then I took about a 1/2 cup of italian bread crumbs, melted a tablespoon or so margarine in them, stirred and topped the casserole. Watch it so it doesn't burn. If you have other things to prepare just put it in a 350 oven until everything else is ready. Delcious, kids loved it. Serves more like 6 adults or 8 with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
YUMMMMM! I substituted a jar of spaghetti sauce for the "sauce" ingredients. It was just as good, and really easy!! My hubby LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greers Ferry, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This stuff is awesome...and healthy! I toss in some bell peppers and use goat cheese instead of mozzarella....gives a nice zing contrast to the acidity of the veggies. Also, my host mom in Spain would make this and season only with olive oil, garlic (lots of both...!), sugar and salt. No basil, no oregano, nothing. Play around with this recipe...it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This is a good recipe and pretty easy to throw together after a long day at work. To me, it seems to make 4 servings rather than 3. Like the previous reviewer suggested, I did use 2 cloves of minced fresh garlic. The sauteeing took about 8 minutes, during which I had to add a couple of tablespoons of EVOO. Next time, I will use a scant 2 cups each of egg plant & zuchinni and also season the dish with salt and pepper in addition to the other seasonings. I used Muir Glenn organic fire roasted diced tomatoes and I think that brought great flavor to the dish. Oh yes, and to make clean up super easy, we just sprinkled parmesean cheese on top on each dish. I also used regular spaghetti pasta noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was delicious! My whole family (even my kids) loved it! I used an all-natural marinara sauce in place of the tomatoes and seasoning. I also added ground beef. When sauteing the vegetables, I added fresh garlic, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Left off the mozzarella and just sprinkled with parmesan. Will make again and again. Such a nice change from plain old spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States