Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I have been on a three-year quest to find the perfect ranch dressing recipe, and I finally found it! This is great! I did make modifications to suit our Texas taste buds (ranch dressing is a condiment here!), but this is a wonderful start. My modifications are to 1) Change the mayo/sour cream/buttermilk to 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup buttermilk, 2)Increase the garlic to 1/2 tsp., and 3) Add 1/2 tsp. vegetable oil (for consistency). Thanks Dawnia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
926 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Pretty good. If you want a dip for cut veggies - use the sour cream. If you want a dressing to drizzle over salad - use buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
658 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I'm a chef in Southern, CA, and 27 years old...best 'simple' recipe for ranch/house dressing that I've ever made in a pinch. I had suprise guests come over, and my buddy loves my cobb salad. I left my recipes at work, and needed to make a good blue cheese dressing. I looked up this recipe and then added a tsp. of worstechire sauce, and gorgonzola cheese to make the blue cheese dressing and it was great. I saved half of the original ranch dressiing and had it woth some buffalo wings, carrot, and celery the next night, and by then it had developed a fantastic flavor. GREAT RECIPE. Chef Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
603 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I quite like this recipe with a few changes of my own and from those of other reviewers. First I decreased the sour cream to only 1/4 c. as I thought the sour cream flavor was a little overpowering. I added 1/2 c. buttermilk to the mayo and used 1/8 tsp. seasoned salt in place of the regular salt, I also added 1/4 tsp. vinegar as had been suggested and upped the garlic powder to 1/2 tsp. With these changes I gave it 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Bottled dressings aren't even close to hanging with this homemade version! I loved it! I used buttermilk and also used fresh chives. It is imperative to let it chill in the fridge for a while. Just after making it, I tried it and it tasted "mayonnaisey." But after three hours it just tasted great! Thanks for the recipe, it is definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is absolutely the best ranch dressing I have ever tasted! I make it all the time for my husband and when I have guests over. Everyone asks for the recipe! If I use it as a dip I leave it just the way it is. As a salad dressing I thin it out a bit with 2% milk. Always yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I've made this a number of times now, and everyone always compliments it. Based on earlier reviews, I use 1/2 cup each of mayo, sour cream, and buttermilk, but otherwise leave the recipe unchanged. It is a thicker dressing (even with the buttermilk modification), perfect for dips, but also compliments salads nicely, sticking to the salad and not gathering uselessly in the bottom of the bowl. As others have mentioned, the flavors blend together much better after a day or two. Have I found my Ranch Nirvana? Not yet, but this is as close as anything else I've tried! Thanks, Dawnia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very thick, and very good. I cut the recipe in half. I did a combo of 1/4 c. of mayo, 1/4 c. of sour cream and 1/4 c. of buttermilk. I also added 1/4 tsp. of ground mustard and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I had fresh chives so I used that in place of dried. A nice change from bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This dressing is awesome! I don't have any onion powder, so I double up the garlic powder. The dill really gives it a wonderful taste. I also used this dressing to dip carrots and make Ranch chicken with. Dip your chicken in, roll in bread crumbs, and bake! It's excellent! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This is delicious and easy! Turned out nice and thick and not "vinegar" tasting like so many are. The only thing I changed is that I added 1Tb. lemon juice to thin it out a little. If you want to use it as a pour-on dressing, you might want to add a little milk to thin it out more but if you mix the salad in a bowl before serving, I found that the moisture from the salad itself automatically dilutes it to the right consistency. The dressing actually clings to the salad and doesn't end up at the bottom of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 945) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States