Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe, but it definitely needed more of all the spices. I also used some minced garlic, dash of hot sauce, dash of Worcestershire sauce and a little paprika in the mix. I used 1/3 cup may, 1/3 cup sour cream and just under a 1/3 cup milk with vinegar (buttermilk substitute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Thanks for an excellent recipe. Like many other home cooks, I am increasingly reluctant to buy commercially prepared, shelf stable products because of the use of chemicals and preservatives. I'm even beginning to experiment with making my own mayo. This ranch recipe is tasty and is so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I seem to be the 900th comment here. (like 899 aren't enough). This turned out great! I was out of onion powder, so I ground up some dried minced onions in my coffee/herb mill. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMarge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fast, delicious and fresh. I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Whalen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Pretty close match to the most popular brand of dressing mix. After making it a few times, I decided to tweak it a bit. I prefer more sour cream flavor & wanted to lighten it up. So I make mine with either light sour cream/plain greek yogurt & lowfat buttermilk (if I want a dressing) with just a spoonful of mayo. Yum, yum! Tastes best if it has a few hours or overnight to sit in the fridge before using...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I am really impressed with myself that I turned out something that was so incredibly good! And equally impressed with DAWNIA for submitting it. Thank you. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. Next time, I am going to try greek yogurt in place of the sour cream but I seriously doubt if the taste of this recipe could be improved. Someone surely did their homework with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I used 1 cup sour cream to 1/2 cup mayo (I use the canola mayo). The sour cream flavor was what I was wanting, the mayo adds the tang. I added all the seasoning as the recipe calls. It is definitely the best tasting chip and veggie dip I've had. My husband is allergic to soy and have not found a store dip that isn't chalked full of soy/ msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious tasting as is, but is way too thick. I added about a 1/2-2/3 cup milk to thin it out enough to pour and it was still very thick. Also added about a tablespoon of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Oh!....oooooohhhh! I tasted this before refrigerating it. Magnificent. I did replace 1/2 cup of the mayo with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Even my mother-in-law was impressed! I use this recipe ALL THE TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States