Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I really liked this recipe as a side dish. Super healthy, lots of flavor, and it tastes great. If I'd do anything different next time, I'd add one less can of beans. I like the quinoa more than beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krbinggeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lezzyb
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
First time I've had quinoa and this recipe impressed!!! I added red bell peppers and only used 1 can of beans. Also I only had packet enchilada seasoning so that's what I used. I made sure to rinse the quinoa before cooking and added a bit more veggie broth. I ended up simmering the quinoa for a bit longer because it wasn't all the way cooked after 20 minutes... Final thought: Delicious & Easy!!! Will be a new addition to the regular menu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was the first quinoa recipe I've tried. Made it once for dinner and another time doubled the recipe for a dinner party side dish. Everyone loved it. Very healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Cracks me up when people change the recipe and then rate it less than 5 stars. Ummmm... Maybe their adjustments made a difference. This was excellent just the way it was written. And to whomever asked if it really makes a difference if you use parsley in place of cilantro or skipped the cumin... Uh yea. It makes a big difference. I made this recipe as written and it is incredible. Thank you for submitting a tasty and healthy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is a winner! Definitely a great alternative to black beans & rice. I added more salt than the recipe calls for, just to taste. I served this with Cheddar Baked Chicken & Skillet Corn, both recipes from this site. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elia
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This recipe can even work well as a dip with tortilla chips. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was my first time making quinoa and it was amazing! I used one can of black beans instead of two. I also followed another reviewer's advice and added the garlic towards the end of the onions cooking and toasted the quinoa with the onions before adding the spices and liquid. I still can't get over how amazing this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe! I love beans so two cans was fine with me. I only used half a onion though. Very good introduction to Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I really enjoyed this. I did use what I had on hand. I used organic chicken broth instead of vegetable and only had minced onion. I seasoned with garlic salt and a pinch of sea salt. I did double the recipe. I agree that one can of black beans is sufficient for the original recipe..if you double it,add two cans. I also used sweet white frozen corn. This is a recipe that you can play with a lot. Adding different vegetables and beans can give you a nice array of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time this evening, and it was a hit! I am on a constant search for new, healthy, gluten free recipes and I'm so glad it ran across this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States