Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I had never had quinoa before this recipe. I took a chance making it for the first time as I had invited company over. They loved it and took seconds. I am going to look for another recipe like it that will brighten it up a bit tho. Will make t again in the fall I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eran del Castillo
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am a college student on a budget and have sworn to a no-eating-out to eat cheaper and healthier. I have made this recipe three times and it's easily my new favorite dish. It only takes one pot, I can stock up on the ingredients to make it again and, for someone once hopelessly addicted to Chipotle, it satisfies my burrito bowl cravings. I've made some changes when experimenting. First, the onions and garlic seem like a lot, but I've noticed the flavors aren't really present in the final dish so I put a little bit more and brown them in olive oil with some red pepper flakes for extra heat. I toss the quinoa with them in the hot oil to toast it (Never had to soak/rinse the quinoa), and use chicken broth and part of one of those chicken stock gels for extra poultry flavor and seasoning. Because of the chicken stock, I don't use any salt, but double the cumin, add about 1.5 as much cayenne, and lots of pepper. I'll usually taste it at this point and expect it to taste like /too much spice/, too salty, too hot, but keep in mind that these spices will disperse to cover the beans and corn. In spite of the reviews, I like the amount of beans and add both cans. I have served this recipe with avocado slices, shredded cheddar, and a fried egg on top for a huevos rancheros-type dinner, and with chipotle marinated chicken or slices of steak on top for extra protein. My boyfriend who only seems to eat junk food LOVES this recipe, and that itself is a miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eran del Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe!! Delicious and gluten-free. Could eat this every day. I cooked the onions and garlic longer, so the quinoa had more color. Will try it with corn tortillas, salsa, cheese, avocado, and hot sauce. With or without meat. This will be a staple at our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
OMG! It is so good, my hubby is so happy. Normally, he prefer small portion to his plate but for this he wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My family all LOVED this recipe. I added a can of diced tomatoes (although I would use fresh next time if I had them on hand) and only used 1 can of beans. Sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I used one can of beans but would like to try it with two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Add a little cheese & avocado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Every intention of making this recipe as written; however, I was missing ingredients. Here's what I put in: Garlic powder in place of garlic cloves Beef broth in place of vegetable broth 1/8 tsp of cayenne Canned chili beans (rinsed and drained) in place of black beans Canned corn in place of frozen corn I think I would have preferred the black beans, but it was still very good with chili beans - just had more of a chili flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maedumas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I wasn't expecting to really like this dish as I just started to eat mostly vegan/vegetarian and have never used quinoa in anything before. So happy to say I thought this was delicious! I, too, used only 1 can of black beans and included a half of a can of diced tomatoes. I can definitely see me putting this in a soft taco shell with a little cheese or vegan sour cream, like another review mentioned doing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States