Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I feel like it was missing something. Next time, I'm going to try adding tomatoes and see if that will make it go from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I should have made a quadruple batch for the party! I couldn't believe how quickly this disappeared. I made it the night before and served it chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Loved this recipe. I did substitute canned corn instead of frozen, but otherwise did as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
we all really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
We tend to eat mostly vegetarian and this is our go-to taco filling. We usually cut back on the beans to 1 can and add extra cilantro because we like it so much. I will typically use some chipotle powder if we're in the mood for some more spice. We also use 1 cup quinoa and a whole 15 oz can of vegetable broth. Also use olive or coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Little modifications aside, this is a great side but stands out for us as taco filling and I eat it cold on top of a salad the next day since it always makes leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I loved this recipe so much! It is quick and easy to make, although I would make it without cilantro next time as its flavour doesn't go well with the spices. I also did not follow the recipe directions the same. I first started out by cooking my quinoa in water and while that was cooking I sautéed my onions and garlic. NOTE: Put your garlic in when your onions are halfway done cooking of the garlic will burn!. Once the quinoa was done I put it into a large bowl, added the onion.garlic mixture, my corn, and I used kidney beans because I did not have black beans, I added my spices and cilantro. I decided to mix it all together and put it in the fridge to eat it chilled and let the flavours marry. Overall it was a lovely recipe, just next time I will not be using cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this yesterday and we loved it! Here's what I changed: subbed evoo for veg oil, added and cooked mushrooms before putting in the quinoa, mixed the seasoning together (added 1 tsp oregano, used 1 tsp of salt and pepper too) and stirred it into the onion/garlic mixture to coat before adding quinoa. Added rotisserie shredded chicken when the corn and beans go in. Used 1 can of beans only. Topped with avocado, Tapatio, and sour cream. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tie guy
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was great just as it is , will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Love this! We aren't vegetarians but have mixed this into the rotation as often as spaghetti. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
First time making this I made for a dinner party/open house for 50 people! It received rave reviews and out of the huge quantity I made I had two servings left. The fresh cilantro is a must as it makes the flavors pop. Second time I made it for a smaller dinner party and had enough left for my husband to take to work as leftovers...I guess that makes it a hit! I did not have vegetable broth and substituted with organic chicken broth and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States