Quick and Easy Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
The best pizza crust recipe that I have ever made! When using jarred active dry yeast, 2-1/4 tsp. yeast = (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
We love this recipe. It's extremely easy to double and works just as well, so we usually make a double batch and put one pizza in the freezer to eat sometime later. We find this recipe to be equal to any typical rise-then-punch-then-rise crust we've made, and far superior to any frozen or refrigerated store-bought pizza crust. I usually add mixed herbs to the dough - I sometimes just do a teaspoon of ground-up "pizza spice" but if I don't have pizza spice on hand I'll just toss in a mixture of approx 1/2 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1/4 tsp onion powder. (The best and easiest way to add herbs is to mix them into the olive oil before you add it to the batter - that will ensure even distribution throughout the entire dough.) Then I mix a bit of garlic powder (about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp) into the olive oil that I brush onto the edge of the crust, which gives it a touch of garlicky flavor and helps the edge turn nice and golden in the oven. Added later: I've also used this recipe to make breadsticks; I still add the herbs and garlic oil, and do everything according to the recipe. After letting the dough rise for 5-10 min, pinch off golfball-sized pieces and roll them between your hands until they're 4-5" long. Cook on a lightly greased cookie sheet, 1" apart, at 450 for 14-18 minutes. It makes 12-16 4"-5" breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1822 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Homemade pizza crust! What a treat for my and husbanad and me. I've never made dough from scratch before and this couldn't be easier. I found this recipe over the weekend and have already made it twice. To make it even easier, I cut out the step where I beat the ingredients together. I just use my hands. So easy and good! Both times I've used this dough recipe with the Classic Margharita Pizza recipe on this website. What a great combination! Try to get a pizza stone if you don't have one because it bakes perfectly. Both times my husband keeps on forgetting I made it from scratch and didn't pick it up at a gourmet restaurant. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is as easy as can be. These days, I make it every two weeks, and not for pizza -- which I've used it for, as well as calzones -- but for foccaccia bread. I've decided to stop buying baguette, which is deadly to a single girl, and now make a double batch of this. I *do* knead it for 5-10 minutes. I raise it an hour or two, then I cut it into 8 balls. Each portion I stick in a Ziploc sandwich bag, then freeze. I pop it in the fridge the night before I want one, let it come to room temp for an hour after work, shape into a flatbread on a floured board, let it rise until a finger indent remains, preheat my pizza stone to 450, put olive oil, sea salt, rosemary on my flatbread, and bake until it's golden-brown and bubbly. WONDERFUL. For a pizza bianco -- a little fresh basil, fresh mozza, sea salt (add charcuterie if you like) -- and bake until happy. For calzone, it's fabulous. Freezing this dough gives it time to rise and get happy. It's easy to make, will freeze for 4-6 weeks, and I highly recommend it as a way to give yourself a LITTLE incredible flatbread with a barbecued meal, salad, whatever. Just my take. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Delicious & Easy! I read previous reviews and also added Italian spices and onion powder. Also, let dough rise 1/2 hour. Great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This crust is just as it says - quick and easy. It's the first time I've made my own pizza crust. It is at least as good as most restaurant pizza crusts. Also it was easier to work with than most crust mixes I've used. Others have said it doesn't have a lot of flavor but -it's pizza crust- what do you expect. I like it and my husband likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
This crust "makes" my pizza. I sprinkle a bit of parmesan cheese, and italian seasoning on the top before adding the pizza sauce. It's quick and simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandi Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
WOW! Delicious, easy, quick, no waiting for it to rise (yea!) and the best pizza my hubby's ever had! The only thing I will do different next time is add some Italian herbs to the flour before mixing as per previous reviews. Did I mention it was easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This is a good if you're REALLY pressed for time, but it didn't turn out as well as my usual recipe that calls for a dough rise. I added Italian seasoning and garlic, and the crust still tasted somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I just made this crust tonight and it was so easy! The best part is that it's quick and still tastes better than most of the pizza to go places around here. I hate when you want to make homemade pizza and then realize it's going to take 1 hour for the crust at least (w/rise time), so you say "forget it". Now I can just use this recipe and whip up a delish pizza in only 1/2 hour. I topped mine with pineapple and prosciutto and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States