Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Surprisingly delicious, an extra star for easy! I cooked the chicken breasts in a G Foreman grill, placed them in a baking dish, poured T Bell chunky taco sauce over it, sprinkled with shredded cheese and baked for about 15 minutes until it started to bubble around the edges. Sprinkled some green onions over the finished dish for color. Served with a dollop of sour cream, brown rice and a salad. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by br00my
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed this - a very easy week day meal to whip up. I had it with sweet potato fries and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I make a similar recipe with these changes that make it moist and delicious! Spread sour cream on the chicken, add coarsely broken taco chips, leave out the browning, the salt & the cumin. I don't use the pepper and garlic but that sounds good. So, chicken, sour cream, Pace chunky or picata salsa, taco chip and top with cheese. Use as much cheese as you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
It is very difficult for me to find time to cook on a weekend, but I decided to give this recipe a try since it appears to be a "quick" recipe. The name holds true - quick and easy! Not only that, but so tasty, I had no leftovers in my house! I didn't have thighs, so pounded out 4 chicken breast and cut each of them in half. I agree, that a pinch wasn't enough, but mixed the salt, pepper, cumin & freshly minced garlic in a bowl - rubbed generously into chicken before browning. When transferring to the baking pan, I added a little extra chopped chili's in with the salsa, as well as some sauteed onions & yellow bell pepper. Everything else was as the recipe called for. This was crazy good! Served with the Easy Corn Pudding found on this website too. Thanks for sharing a recipe that was delicious and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great, quick recipe. I was looking for something to use up a jar of salsa and a pkg of cheddar cheese. Amazing! Invited my neighbors over to try it with us and they loved it as well. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Harris Capp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was fantastic and easy to make! I didn't have cumin, so to give it the Mexican feel, I added taco seasoning instead. I happened to have some queso in my fridge, so before I put on the salsa and cheese, I put a thin layer of that on. I served it with a small dollop of sour cream and it was fantastic! My husband enthusiastically told me I should make this one of my standard dishes and that his family (who loves "safe" recipes) would absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
It is really great. "Company Food" as my husband said. It is so easy that he can even fix it next time. I only made a few minor changes. I flattened the chicken with a meat mallot and I used olive oil instead of spray cooking oil. I used more than a pinch of chili powder and garlic powder. I rubbed it in as another suggested and baked it covered for about 15 minutes . Then I poured 1/3 cup salsa on each chicken piece and recovered for another 20 minutes. Then I put the shredded cheese on the top and baked uncovered about 10-15 minutes to melt. This is a winner and so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I read the other reviews about the chicken being too dry/tough when it was browned before putting it into the oven. I think that the browning time in the instructions is too long. I quickly browned the chicken on each side after seasoning it--no more than 2 minutes on each side and it turned out great. The meat was moist and tender. I also suggest that you sauté the garlic in olive oil before browning the chicken. Then remove it from the skillet to keep it from burning. The garlic flavor is infused in the oil and then transferred to the chicken as it browns. My family loved this. It is so simple and the flavor suggests a much more complex dish than the recipe ingredient list warrants. I used Newman's Own All Natural Mild Salsa and it provided a wonderful depth of smokey flavor. An additional benefit to using this brand--all profits go to charity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was tasty. I followed the recipe exactly other than adding much more than a pinch of cumin. If I make this again, I would like to try rubbing the chicken with homemade taco seasoning, as several previous reviewers mention doing; I think it would taste even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States