Puppy Chow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I reduced the amount of cereal to 8 cups, and added 1/4 cup butter and 1 tsp of vanilla to it. I cooled it slightly in the fridge before tossing with the powdered sugar so it doesn't absorb it so much...coats better with less. This is soooo adictive. I can't make it unless I know there are people here to help me eat it or it's gone before I know it! ****Here's a tip, line your measuring cup with saran wrap before mesauring the peanut butter. It will slide right out with no messy clean up! I do this for all sticky ingredients (shortening, honey, pb, corn syrup) Works great!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I had made puppy chow before but with a different recipe. This recipe definitely needed more chocolate. I would recommend a 12 oz bag vs. 1 cup of chips. Using only 1 cup did not coat the cereal nearly enough to make the "puppy chow" consistency [the chex squares did not stick together]!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1017 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I love this recipe. The only thing that I would add is that you can microwave the chocolate peanut butter mixture instead of heating on the stove. It makes it much easier. Just microwave for a minute, stir, then microwave for 30 seconds. It works great. Remember to use a microwave safe bowl. Love the recipe. Great snack for kids sleepovers and snacks at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
706 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Cute story to tell... I had a gathering and offered some Puppy Chow to 4 yr-old Anthony. He asked what was in it. I told him it was Chex cereal that had melted chocolate and peanut butter poured on it. Then it was tossed in powdered sugar. He says "Oh no... I couldn't possibly eat that." Thinking he was allergic to something I kind of freaked and asked why not. He put his little hand to his chest, took a step backwards and said "Because it sounds too delicious." FOUR YEARS OLD! Needless to say, I had to give the kid a hug. Anthony proceeded to gobble it up and even took a doggy bag (which he thought was hilarious) home for his brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I made this with one full 16 oz. box of Rice Chex, a full bag of chocolate chips, and one cup of p/b. Because of this large quantity, I had to move the sauce from the saucepan to a very large bowl to stir everything. What an easy way to make delicious snacks for a large group! And it's SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Really great! A few suggestions. I added half a stick of butter so that the chocolate mixture would be more fluid (thus, easier to spread). 9 cups was WAY too much cereal to coat each piece of cereal completely, so I'd go with 7 or 8. Really great otherwise =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Coming across this recipe brought a smile to my face and evoked years and years of delightful memories with my children--classroom treats, sleepovers, birthday parties...even finding pieces of Puppy Chow underneath their beds! This is a treat, I'm sure, that has pleased millions of kids and adults alike. The original recipe adds 1/4 cup of butter melted with the chocolate chips and peanut butter, in the microwave, for about a minute and a half, stirring after one minute. Then stir in 1 tsp. of vanilla. Once laid out on waxed paper, the challenge is to wait until the Puppy Chow (or Muddie Buddies) is cool before you start nibbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
LOVE this recipe! I have found that using a paper grocery bag works better for coating the chow with the powdered sugar though. Just a little note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I had always made this recipe with a stick of butter. I was surprised how tasty it came out with less fat! I did add extra peanut butter to make one cup(to have an even chocolate peanut butter taste.) and just stuck it all in the microwave to melt for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
It just isn't Christmas around here without this stuff. Last year things were a little hectic and I forgot to make the Puppy Chow and sure enough, by the end of the night, TWELVE people asked about it. It's SO easy--a little messy, though. The large bag works well, but so does a large bowl with a lid. Just pour everything into the bowl, pop on the lid, and shake your little heart out! Oh and peanut fans will LOVE this recipe with crunchy peanut butter! It really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States