Puppy Chow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I love puppy chow. I originally made it when I was in third grade and our teacher called it Reindeer Chow for the holidays ahaha. Now that I'm almost 22, I make it every year around Christmas to give to friends. It's much better home made than it is when you find it in the store. As for this recipe, I also reduced the amount of cereal to 8 cups. I liked the option of putting the butter and vanilla in, but a whole stick was a little much. Also, if you put the butter in and you plan to make this in the microwave, bad idea. The butter makes the chocolate and peanut butter stick together like crazy. I had to put hot milk in the mixture jus to make it smooth enough to coat the cereal. Might be better if done in a pot/pan on the stove. Over all though, a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Can substitute Sunbutter for the peanut butter and the taste is great! I also used 3 T. butter and a little vanilla...just to to see how it turned out. I loved it! As other reviewers said...decrease your cereal amount a little and you'll be set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
really really great recipe! use chunky peanut butter though ;) it really adds something to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Victoria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I used cinnamon flavored Chex and left out the peanut butter: delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I have made a version like this for years but I use Golden Grahams instead and add raisins and peanuts. My son cannot have gluten so I make a version using the Honey Chex cereal and he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdhendrick6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is additicting. I had to make this for a spot on a morning show for AllRecipes. So easy. I realized it was the recipe my daughter used to make when she was 15-16 all the time. Fun stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe. I read the reviews and followed some advice from several contributors. I used one 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips and microwaved the chocolate and PB for one minute, stirred and then continued microwaving at 30 second intervals. I would recommend that if you plan to use the Ziploc bag method to add the powdered sugar that you add 1/2 cup to coat completely. Also, I would add 1/2 cup of sugar, then some of the chocolate covered cereal and then another 1/2 cup of sugar....etc. that way you can coat more evenly with less shaking and mess. Good luck keeping this yummy stuff around! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I added tiny pretzels!!! just sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
my kids have loved this item for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The amount of the ingredients for each item should be adjusted: 1 small box of Crispix cereal Small jar of creamy peanut butter 1 12 oz or 16 oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips 1 stick of butter 1 box of confectioner's sugar Melt butter, choc. chips, & peanut butter together on low just until melted; turn off heat & add cereal. Pour powdered sugar in large paper bag & add melted cereal mixture & shake till coated. Easiest recipe in the world & everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States