Puppy Chow II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Came out good. Needs more than 1/3 c powdered sugar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Love/hate it! Love it because it tastes so good, hate it because I will eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Stirring and corn cereal do not "mix." Save some time and crunched up cereal by using your hands in one of those huge metal wok-looking bowls... have no idea how anyone would stir this! Must have a lot more patience than I do. Just the recipe I was looking for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great to send for a snack/party day you might want to add a bit more powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
A great simple recipe that is fun for kids to make. For a change try using white chocolate and adding cinnamon to the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
A classic recipe. Very good, only used half the amount of butter because it seemed like a lot. Next time I will try leaving it out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Most importantly, if you don't want to use a ton of powdered sugar - don't use a paper bag. I started with the paper bag but it was way too sugar coated for us. With the second half of the batch I sprinkled powdered sugar on a deep cookie sheet and then layered the coated cereal and sprinkled powdered sugar over the top then mixed by hand breaking up the chunks to coat with a little powdered sugar. I also suggest that this be melted over low heat on the stove top. I melted in the micro stirring at 30 second intervals for a total of 1 min 30 sec and it was getting stiffer after the first minute. I followed other suggestions and used crispix and thought it was great. I didn't have enough peanut butter so I threw in some nutella and I think this worked well although it did add more sugar. Overall pretty good treat in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I make this for the Holidays every year I also have a nephew that request every time we get together and send more to college with him. This is the recipe I have used for our Dog Club annual Banquet as a table favor for 140 people! I don't really measure the peanut butter I use 2 serving spoon fulls and I don't measure the powdered sugar I pour in about 1/4 of a 2lb bag (I found the perfect container for this is an 8quart plastic food prep container with lid from GFS) put the lid on and shake and roll add a bit more till it looks white bottom to top so you don't get sticky fingers! You can use less sugar if you don't heat the peanut butter and butter and chocolate too much just till it is all melted then I add a teaspoon of salt stir and pour over cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
one word. AMAZING. it may not look as good because they are in clumps, but that only make it better. LOVE IT (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
soooo good and a perfect recipe! made it in a tupperware and shook it up then poured over the powdered sugar. then shook it up some more and it covered them all perfectly! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shorty_7420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States