Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was fantastic. The presentation was nice. I made this for our college girls halloween party. I used beef stock instead of water, and only one pound of meat (it waa fajita meat not stew meat). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I was fantastic, everyone loved it! It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I have a better stew recipe that I think I will stick with (add a bit of red wine and some bay leaf). I usually cook mine in smaller individual pumpkins. Guests eat the cooked pumpkin as they go. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We have used this recipe on several occasions and gatherings. People find it unusual but, at the sametime, super delicious. It is one dish that there is no leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jared MacKillip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Pumpkin soup is a halloween tradition at our house, but we use smoked keilbassa rather than beef then add the winter vegetables; a rutabega, a couple of parsnips, a sweet potato and just a handfull of wild rice. be sure to scrape some of the pumpkin into each bowl. sprinkle with a little bit of fresh parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My mom made a similar version of this stew every Halloween before we were allowed to get into costume and hit the streets for candy gold. We add 8 dried apricots, cut in half, and 1/4 cup golden raisins. It adds a little sweetness to the recipe and taste REALLY good when they plump up from the liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I use this year after year...people love the idea that it is in a pumpkin. I have even used the already prepared beef stew and just shave pumpkin off the side to add to the stew and stew flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used a 10 pound pumpkin for a serving size for 3 people. I prebaked the pumpkin for 30 minutes for easy cutting (which is also supposedly good for enhancing the flavor). Instead of green peppers, I added celery, I added only 2/3 of the salt and no bouillon cubes, and added twice the amount of water the recipe called for. I don't think I used the right pumpkin since the pumpkin meat was not very tasty. However, the presentation was beautiful and the stew itself was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Made this for my husband's monthy 'Boy's Night' I did it in a 25 lb pumpkin (doubled) and he barely managed to save me one bowl because they all loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Excellent stew. Had to almost triple the amount of water, but I used beef broth instead for a lovely rich taste. Omitted the beef granules too. Omitted the tomato for personal tastes. Husband said it was the best stew I ever made. The pumpkin adds a great offset flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Made this for the first time and it's delicious. I used smaller red and orange peppers rather than green bell to make it more festive and add spice. I also added portabella mushrooms. I've found it a safe bet, based on other reviews, to not scrape very hard on the bottom of the pumpkin. This way it is less likely to crack. Also, I sat the pumpkin atop the stove as it warmed up, so that it wasn't such a drastic change in temperature (so to avoid the pumpkin potentially splitting.) I also added some canned apricots, diced. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Liberty, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States