Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a neat recipe! The recipe doesn't give enough instructions though for non-experienced cooks, so here you go . . . cover the stew while it's being cooked on the stove, otherwise the liquid will cook off. Also, place the pumpkin top back on the pumpkin after it's filled, make sure the pumpkin stem is wet, and then cover the stem with tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was fabulous! I doubled the recipe for a party and used an 11 lb. French cooking pumpkin. I made the stew Friday night and baked it Saturday. It came out wonderful and the leftovers just got better and beter. Served with a crusty french bread to complete! Thanks for this great recipe - I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
this was great! stew tasted yummy and it looked awesome:) i didn't quite fill the pumpkin to the top with the stew, when i took it out of the oven it was full - must be it filled the rest of the way with the pumpkin juice. very good recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Susan O
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had a 5 person Thanksgiving party this year and decided t try this recipe. Made stew in 5 small individual pumpkins and they were a HUGE HIT. I was nervous about how everything would turn out but I followed other's suggestions and it was such a success. A few notes.. 1.) Instead of 1 large 10-12 lbs pumpkin I used 5 small organic sugar pumpkins. Extends prep time but the presentation is amazing and your guests will be amazed! Rubbed pumpkin pie spice on inside of hallowed out pumpkin before pouring stew and baking. 2.) Additional ingredients: Sliced celery (adds flavor!), corn, cut green beans, & portabella mushroom. Very hearty. 3.) Reduced salt by 1/2 4.) Wet stems & cover with foil when bakiing. DO NOT overbake. I baked for only 1 hour 15 min. 5.) Sprinkled freshly grated Parmesean Reggiano and toasted spiced pumpkin seeds (collected from the pumpkins)on top of each stew right before serving. Comfort food, folks! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We thought that this had a very pretty presentation. The idea is wonderful. The stew....not so great. It lacked in flavor and seasonings. May try this again another time, but first time was not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Being cajun, I couldn't resist changing the recipe just a bit. I added 1/2 more pound of beef, 12 oz. of "Texas Pete Seafood Cocktail Sauce, and more salt than the recipe calls for. I also boiled the potatoes and carrots for 30 min. before following the recipe(I actually could have cooked them longer). I also didn't serve in the pumpkin but scooped everything into a large bowl. the pumpkin was delicious and the stew was better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made this last fall... several times!! It is soooooooo yummy. It makes an amazing presentation. And is full of Fiber!! I did add a handful of mushrooms just because I love mushrooms. Oh how I wish there were pumpkins right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This has to be one of the best recipes I have ever seen for a party or large dinner party. I have made it twice and it is always a huge hit. People are blown away by the presentation and taste. Five stars all around. As others have noted the directions are a bit sketchy. Cover the stew while cooking on the stove and the pumpkin's top while in the oven. Also, feel free to add nearly anything you like to the beef stew. I increased the vegetable count some. Just make sure that you do not add so much that the resulting stew no longer fits inside the pumpkin you have. About the pumpkin: I have no idea where you would find a 12 pound sugar pumpkin but it would not work. You need a standard "jack-o-lantern" pumpkin. A jack-o-lantern pumpkin contains quite a bit of water; making it unsuitable for use in most recipes. But, the stew you create in the first part of this recipe is too thick on its own. However, when you move it into the pumpkin to finish cooking the water from the pumpkin fixes that problem and adds a wonderful flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Spare the poor pumkin! Added so many things to this stew to try and give it some flavor that it no longer had any relationship to this recipe. Cooked the pumpkin exactly as directed. The bottom split open and some of the stew leaked out preventing any thought of moving the ensemble to an attractive serving dish. The pumpkin looked pretty however. Will try again cooking the pumpkin empty for a shorter time and than filling it with something else - possibly pumpkin soup or mashed sweet potatoes. Or maybe I'll forget it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is such a unique recipe, presentation is gorgeous, and I believe that the pumpkin itself adds to the flavours of the stew and enriches the beef taste quite well. Very original, and delicious in the fall months. For a summer variation, try making a cold soup inside a hollowed out summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States