Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This has to be one of the best recipes I have ever seen for a party or large dinner party. I have made it twice and it is always a huge hit. People are blown away by the presentation and taste. Five stars all around. As others have noted the directions are a bit sketchy. Cover the stew while cooking on the stove and the pumpkin's top while in the oven. Also, feel free to add nearly anything you like to the beef stew. I increased the vegetable count some. Just make sure that you do not add so much that the resulting stew no longer fits inside the pumpkin you have. About the pumpkin: I have no idea where you would find a 12 pound sugar pumpkin but it would not work. You need a standard "jack-o-lantern" pumpkin. A jack-o-lantern pumpkin contains quite a bit of water; making it unsuitable for use in most recipes. But, the stew you create in the first part of this recipe is too thick on its own. However, when you move it into the pumpkin to finish cooking the water from the pumpkin fixes that problem and adds a wonderful flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is a great seasonal stew idea, and the presentation is spectacular, but the recipe as it stands is kind of bland, thus the 3 star rating. Still, I've made this several times with my own variations (including thyme and other herbs, changing up the vegetables, adding a can of Guinness even) because I love pumpkin and the presentation was totally worth it. It's become my Halloween dinner tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I absolutely am in LOVE with this stew. I didn't cook it IN the pumpkin, due to the leakage issues other people had. I had the kids peel, then I chopped up half of a tiny pumpkin, and added it to the stew. I'm seriously lazy, so I browned the meat in a stock pot, threw the rest of the ingredients in, brought it to a boil, then put it in the slow cooker. 4 hours later, we were all in heaven. Leftovers lasted all week, and I loved every single bowl! I've struggled with beef stew in the past, and I can't stand the taste of white potatoes in my stews, but THIS... oh heavens... it was heaven! Thanks, Cathryn! Well done, girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
AMAZING! So much better than my family's old recipe for Dinner in a Pumpkin. This Pumpkin Stew will be the new tradition in our household for Halloween. I changed the recipe by adding 3 cups of water instead of one (there were so many veggies that it needed more liquid to make a stew, flavor was not compromised at all), and by simmering on the stove for only 1 hour, then cooking in the pumpkin in the oven for only 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Any longer would have over cooked the pumpkin! It was already slumping over after 1 1/2 hours. And, of course, I drew a jack-o-lantern face on the outside with a permanent marker before brushing with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Have been making this recipe for over 15 years, since it first appeared in the magazine and my family starts asking for it as soon as they see the pumpkins. I do add more veggies and meat then they say and I cook it longer. We love this fabulous pumpkin creation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a pretty awesome idea. I used a jack o lantern pumpkin because I couldn't find a large enough sugar pumpkin. There was not very much pumpkin flavor, and the stew could use a little more spice/flavor, but the presentation is out of this world! I will make this again, tweaking here and there to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Served it for Jets Sunday Football,and everyone loved it. The only thing I did wrong was over filled the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The only change I made was to rub the inside of the pumpkin with pumpkin pie spice before filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atomicdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The stew was very tender. The pumpkin was beautiful. However, the recipe was not to my liking. I jazzed it up with seasonings but for the most part I followed the recipe. This is more like soup than stew. No tomatoes..almost didn't add them, wish I hadn't. Next time I will use MY beef stew recipe and I will add a thickening agent as I like my stew thick not soupy. It was fun though. It got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was very good! I tried it in Oct. when pumpkins were on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States