Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I absolutely am in LOVE with this stew. I didn't cook it IN the pumpkin, due to the leakage issues other people had. I had the kids peel, then I chopped up half of a tiny pumpkin, and added it to the stew. I'm seriously lazy, so I browned the meat in a stock pot, threw the rest of the ingredients in, brought it to a boil, then put it in the slow cooker. 4 hours later, we were all in heaven. Leftovers lasted all week, and I loved every single bowl! I've struggled with beef stew in the past, and I can't stand the taste of white potatoes in my stews, but THIS... oh heavens... it was heaven! Thanks, Cathryn! Well done, girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
AMAZING! So much better than my family's old recipe for Dinner in a Pumpkin. This Pumpkin Stew will be the new tradition in our household for Halloween. I changed the recipe by adding 3 cups of water instead of one (there were so many veggies that it needed more liquid to make a stew, flavor was not compromised at all), and by simmering on the stove for only 1 hour, then cooking in the pumpkin in the oven for only 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Any longer would have over cooked the pumpkin! It was already slumping over after 1 1/2 hours. And, of course, I drew a jack-o-lantern face on the outside with a permanent marker before brushing with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Have been making this recipe for over 15 years, since it first appeared in the magazine and my family starts asking for it as soon as they see the pumpkins. I do add more veggies and meat then they say and I cook it longer. We love this fabulous pumpkin creation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a pretty awesome idea. I used a jack o lantern pumpkin because I couldn't find a large enough sugar pumpkin. There was not very much pumpkin flavor, and the stew could use a little more spice/flavor, but the presentation is out of this world! I will make this again, tweaking here and there to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Served it for Jets Sunday Football,and everyone loved it. The only thing I did wrong was over filled the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The only change I made was to rub the inside of the pumpkin with pumpkin pie spice before filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atomicdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The stew was very tender. The pumpkin was beautiful. However, the recipe was not to my liking. I jazzed it up with seasonings but for the most part I followed the recipe. This is more like soup than stew. No tomatoes..almost didn't add them, wish I hadn't. Next time I will use MY beef stew recipe and I will add a thickening agent as I like my stew thick not soupy. It was fun though. It got eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was very good! I tried it in Oct. when pumpkins were on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was an excellent stew. I only had a small pumpkin so I cut it up and put it in the stew during the last hour of cooking. Didn't eat until the next day so the flavors could blend. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. The stew is great on it's own but I was really surprised at how awesome the pumpkin bits are. The pumpkin really compliments the stew. And of course the presentation is perfect for fall. One of my family's favorite fall traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States