Pumpkin Pie Spice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Many "pumpkin pie spices list 'allspice' as a combination of flavors, when in fact Allspice is a flavor all it's own. http://theepicentre.com/spice/allspice-2/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Too much ginger! I will cut the ginger to two tsp next time. I used it in my pumpkin bread after finding I had used all my premade spice up and all I can taste is the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is a great, solid recipe! Will use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
thank you for this recipe, its just what i needed. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I added more cinnamon. For some reason the ginger overshadowed the other spices. Yuk, so I added more cinnamon and wish I had some cloves because a small dash might have helped as well. But in a nutshell, this is a great little recipe to have on hand so you don't end up spending a fortune on a pre-packaged "pumpkin pie spice" bottle. Just find the perfect mix for your liking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used roasted Saigon cinnamon from McCormick, which is deep and intense. I agree with others who found that the recipe needs ground clove as well. I'll add that the next time. I only made a small batch, for making lattes with, this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I usually find something 'off' about store bought pumpkin pie spices, but this is a base that's easy to make with proportions that are easy to remember. I like cloves AND allspice, so since both are similar, I did **1.5 tsp. of cloves + 1.5 tsp of allspice (1/2 of each) to equal the 3 tsp. of allspice called for. Then I added about *1-2 extra Tbsp. cinnamon to taste. I've put it with delicious results in cinnamon rolls and pumpkin pie at a ratio of about *2 tsp. cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. pie spice, and the spice blend was perfect! No one spice negatively overpowered the others; no, "WOAH, easy on the cloves next time! Can't even taste the ginger!" Obviously, if you don't love cinnamon like I do, you may want to skip my additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Much, much better than McCormick's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made 1 change: I used 2 teaspoons allspice and 1 tsp nutmeg. This was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is an exact match for the little shaker of store bought pumpkin pie spice that I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States