Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mom2GrandChampionCook
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this exactly as it calls for. I lived in New Orleans for years and this recipe comes the closest to Aunt Sally's pralines! At first I was afraid they were going to be the chewy kind, but once they set up they were PERFECT! I stir mine continuously like they do at Aunt Sally's (last time I was there was a three weeks ago). The only thing different I did was add more pecans but only bc I have a ton of them in my backyard. When it started to boil I looked at the clock and added four minutes to the time. It might sound crazy but it worked for me. I wll post a pic too--it was taken RIGHT after I put them down on parchment paper, before they set up fully but I can assure you it didn't take them long to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
PLEASE READ If you plan to use this recipe! I made these pralines 2 nights ago and it was a total FAILURE. I followed it precisely which was a MISTAKE. After the mixture was at correct temp I took off heat and proceeded to spoon out on baking sheet! I had I had a gooey sticky MESS that spread out all over the baking sheet and never set up! I should have read the reviews that recommended a cooling in a ice bath before spooning out otherwise you will have a ugly mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
these were yummy, very close to ones we had in New Orleans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Spectacular! I've never made pralines before, but I will never use another recipe! These are great! The first few that came out of the batch look like the ones in the picture. I think I may have cooled the mixture too long before spooning it out, because the last ones don't look as pretty. But they are delicious! and the recipe was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had never attempted to make pralines, but I am so glad I tried these! They are delicious, just like in candy/fudge shops. This will be a holiday staple for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These were sooo good! I followed the recipe exactly, and used the ice bath suggestion from a reviewer..and wanted to suggest to anyone trying this technique, do not let it sit too long in the ice- the mixture cools down really fast and made it way too thick and lumpy...not the nice glossy appearance I would expect for pralines. I think would skip the ice bath altogether next time. They were delicious anyway..thanks MARKR, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
these were awsome and a big hit with everyone. The taset was amazing the only thing that i have a lil negtive about them is that i was looking for them to be more crunchy as i was putting them into an ice cream cake but every thing else was like i said before they are awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I've been looking for this recipe for years, its perfect just the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
The ingredients were perfect. Using the advice of users FRALTONY and kikinola, mine came out perfect the first time (and only time I have ever tried to make them). My only additional tip would be to use Canter sugar (extra fine ground) instead of regular white sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amyc519

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really great recipe (simple if you own a candy thermometer!). I was out of vanilla however and substituted that for 1/2tsp of Almond Extract. Also, I did not use toasted pecans, just raw pecans. I added them after the mixture was at temp. Then I mixed it all continuously till it stopped being glossy and started thickening. Then I put then on a sheet to cool. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States