Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
They are excellent! Substituted half and half for the milk, and used coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar. Very tasty. Used some when I made pralines and cream ice cream. This is the second pralines recipe I have tried, and this one beat the other (from Emeril Lagasse). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am a southern girl and pralines have always been my favorite candy... Unfortunately not everybody makes pralines the same and they don't always taste good! My mom use 4 ingredients, white sugar, milk, butter, & pecans. I cannot seem to duplicate her delicious candy and It's been a long time(like 20 years or more) since I made pralines but I ran across this recipe and decides to try it. It is a winner!!! I made the following changes... I used a small can of evaporated milk instead and I accidentally used dark brown sugar instead light brown sugar and they turned out terrific!!! Yum!!! I had to make another batch because they did not late after my sister and brother got a hold of them! This will be my go to recipe cause they're so tasty that anybody who eats them will say say "'Mmmm, 'vest ci Bon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect - just like I remember from growing up in Texas. I am not an experienced candy maker and these turned out great on my first try! As soon as it reached temperature (about 3 minutes after starting to boil - I checked frequently with my electronic food thermometer), I removed the pan from heat and stirred briskly for a couple of minutes to let it cool and start to thicken a bit before dropping by the spoonful onto parchment paper (I did not do any ice bath as some other reviewers have done). Then I proceeded to nearly make myself sick scraping the leftover candy from the pan and eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
AH-mazing!!! I bought some boxed pralines from a well known NOLA bakery from another well known brand name discount store that were quite pricey for 4 pralines...but I figured if they were half as good as some I had when there then it was worth it and I couldn't get into too much trouble with 4 of them...;-) haha Well I'll never buy another again- this was my first attempt at pralines though I am a baker- not too well versed in candy but my father JUST gave me his mother's old candy thermometer so I was thrilled to use it and give this a shot. Thanks for the recipe but just as much thanks for the comments. I read every one believe it or not! Definitely missing a crucial step that it appears left some reviewers pulling their hair out and giving a poor review. You MUST let it cool down some WHILE stirring vigorously- I know it's probably an "art" as so many southern recipes are and you learn by doing over and over what it will look like when it's perfect but I tell you what- I think I was pretty darn close- gets somewhat opaque and thickens up a little. But a word to the wise- have everything you even think you will need within reach- I still ended up rushing when the parchment slipped off and I lost my smaller spoon into the mix when I set it down to fix it- too hot to get so had to get a new one... all ended well but that could have ruined the whole thing!:) My last two were almost too set up to "drop" nice and smooth! Used evap. milk and def. roasted pecans in dry skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Didn't have a candy thermometer. Covered and cooked for three minutes, as someone suggested. Turned out perfect. Also added vanilla at the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missjoybell
Home Town: French Creek, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Parsons, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I really liked this recipe. It was easy. I am a professional chef. I always heard that these were hard to make. I do not bake much at my current job. My wife wanted me to make these for her and they turned out great the first time, due to me reading the reviews the person from new orleans helped the most.The second time I over boiled and it turned into a strange brown sugar pile but I was able to bring them back by adding a splash of milk then returning them back the heat til they first boil again and they are just as good as before. Instead of dropping them on a sheet pan I dropped them into silicone molds heart shaped and coins. They turned out great. I would only want to experiment now with some different extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Amazing but lacked the detailed instructions that were Key in these turning out like they are supposed to. Read a bunch of reviews and tried again...golden. :). MUST do the ice water bath immediately after it comes to temp, whisk to incorp air and cool down THEN pour onto Silpat to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GatorGirl25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this after reading several reviews and made a few changes based on suggestions and the came out PERFECT! 1st of all use evaporated milk. Second do not use the cold water bath but rather after reaching the proper temp remove from the heat and continue to stir for a few minutes until the mixture begins to tighten up just slightly then spoon onto parchment paper. The texture was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen0822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Did not turn out at all! I have sugary pecans. The candy crystalized, it was all dry and nothing wants to stick to the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States