Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Being from New Orleans (born & raised), I've always enjoyed when my grandmother used to make pralines for us. I used to watch her make them when I was a kid. After reading this, I think I will challenge myself and make them, as well. It looks easy but I still remember the trouble that my grandmother used to have when the ingredients would harden up in the pot. BTW FOLKS, speaking from seeing her make them....YOU SHOULD SPREAD BUTTER ON THE ALUMINUM FOIL before sitting the hot pralines on it. Otherwise, they will stick to the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy Dupre'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These are awesome and easy. I read a few reviews and used various suggestions. I used evaporated milk instead of milk, waited until after cooking to add the vanilla, stirred in an ice bath, and boiled for three minutes vs using a candy thermometer. My husband and I love them. I might have made them a little big. I only got 10 out of one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Very easy, even when my NEW candy thermometer didn't work... checked a rough estimate temp with a meat thermometer, and it still worked. Very good flavor- and since I'm physically disabled, and can't do the individual 'scoops', I spread them on a parchment lined cookie sheet, and cut them into even pieces the next morning. They are great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Not having a lot of candy making experience, I was a bit nervous making this recipe. It was so easy and SOOO good!! I followed the advice of several others and used 2 c. toasted pecans, 1/2 t salt, and used evaporate milk. I didn't have any ice on hand for an ice bath, so I just used cold water. It turned out perfectly. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
OMG, it worked!! I can't cook for squat and this was so easy for me. Now, I can make these at Christmas for gifts. I'm so excited that it actually worked and I feel like a big shot chef! My family loved them and were surprised that I pulled them off. I've actually gotten a few good recipes from this site. Yay! (I should add that I HAD to buy a candy thermometer in order to pull this off as I couldn't deal with the "soft ball" mystery nonsense.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
So authentic tasting and completely addictive. I would also agree with those who add more pecans. These are very sweet. The stirring is important to get right. I had to make a few batches before I really got it. Now it is a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
They are excellent! Substituted half and half for the milk, and used coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar. Very tasty. Used some when I made pralines and cream ice cream. This is the second pralines recipe I have tried, and this one beat the other (from Emeril Lagasse). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am a southern girl and pralines have always been my favorite candy... Unfortunately not everybody makes pralines the same and they don't always taste good! My mom use 4 ingredients, white sugar, milk, butter, & pecans. I cannot seem to duplicate her delicious candy and It's been a long time(like 20 years or more) since I made pralines but I ran across this recipe and decides to try it. It is a winner!!! I made the following changes... I used a small can of evaporated milk instead and I accidentally used dark brown sugar instead light brown sugar and they turned out terrific!!! Yum!!! I had to make another batch because they did not late after my sister and brother got a hold of them! This will be my go to recipe cause they're so tasty that anybody who eats them will say say "'Mmmm, 'vest ci Bon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Perfect - just like I remember from growing up in Texas. I am not an experienced candy maker and these turned out great on my first try! As soon as it reached temperature (about 3 minutes after starting to boil - I checked frequently with my electronic food thermometer), I removed the pan from heat and stirred briskly for a couple of minutes to let it cool and start to thicken a bit before dropping by the spoonful onto parchment paper (I did not do any ice bath as some other reviewers have done). Then I proceeded to nearly make myself sick scraping the leftover candy from the pan and eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
AH-mazing!!! I bought some boxed pralines from a well known NOLA bakery from another well known brand name discount store that were quite pricey for 4 pralines...but I figured if they were half as good as some I had when there then it was worth it and I couldn't get into too much trouble with 4 of them...;-) haha Well I'll never buy another again- this was my first attempt at pralines though I am a baker- not too well versed in candy but my father JUST gave me his mother's old candy thermometer so I was thrilled to use it and give this a shot. Thanks for the recipe but just as much thanks for the comments. I read every one believe it or not! Definitely missing a crucial step that it appears left some reviewers pulling their hair out and giving a poor review. You MUST let it cool down some WHILE stirring vigorously- I know it's probably an "art" as so many southern recipes are and you learn by doing over and over what it will look like when it's perfect but I tell you what- I think I was pretty darn close- gets somewhat opaque and thickens up a little. But a word to the wise- have everything you even think you will need within reach- I still ended up rushing when the parchment slipped off and I lost my smaller spoon into the mix when I set it down to fix it- too hot to get so had to get a new one... all ended well but that could have ruined the whole thing!:) My last two were almost too set up to "drop" nice and smooth! Used evap. milk and def. roasted pecans in dry skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States