Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was excellent and very similar to the Pralines at River Street Sweets in Savannah, GA. I did not toast my pecans. The best outcome seemed to depend on when I poured them out on the cookie sheet. The ones that I spooned out immediately were too flat and glossy. The ones that I spooned out after the mixture had cooled were too crumbly. The ones that I spooned out after the mixture had cooled for 2-3 minutes were the perfect consistency. I would recommend waiting just a couple of minutes, then quickly spooning them onto the cookie sheet. I will definitely be making these many times over the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I must say this was really good it was late at night when I made them so I didn't have any pecans so I used peanuts and they were still very good and was gone as soon as I made them so yes I will make them again and again. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I prefer a chewy caramel praline, but my husband LOVED these. I didn't even have enuff to give as gifts as planned b/c he pilfered them! For awhile I had to hide them from him!!! So needless to say they are yummy! I substituted the milk for half and half b/c I didn't have any regular cow's milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is it, baby! The flavor I remember. I've messed up more praline recipes than I care to admit, but this one finally worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These were perfect!!! I have made them for my husband, my parents, my in-laws...and they all love them! Thank you so much for the recipe. These candies make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
These were fairly good, but not exceptional. I did not use a candy thermometer and I'm sure they'd be a bit better using one, as I didn't understand the pouring into water thing. I would also add more pecans next time as I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
These were very yummy- my mom and I loved them! : D They were very sticky though, and you have to follow the recipe exactly, or you will end up with a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luthiena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Terrific recipe! I made these to give away as Christmas treats, but they never made it to the tins. They were devoured by my family in less than 48 hours. The only thing different that I did was to put the pot(of praline ingredietns) in a ice water bath prior to spooning them onto the baking sheet. If you do this, make sure you stir the mixture constantly as it forms quickly. The ice bath helps the pralines to set with a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is one of the best recipes that I've tried recently. the sugar and pecans really pop out with a melting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States