Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used to live in Atlanta, and would buy pecan pralines for my mom for Christmas. Then we moved, and now I can't find them. A friend suggested this recipe - I was nervous since I have never made candy and am no expect chef. But this recipe was fairly easy and DELICIOUS. They taste amazing. I used 2 cups of pecans (1.5 cups halves and 1/2 cup pieces), buttermilk, and the ice bath. I bought a candy thermometer for the first time, and I'm glad I did. I made the first batch as a test batch, but they're so good I'm bringing them to a party tomorrow. I hope they last that long, and I don't eat them all first! DELICIOUS pralines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Came out Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have never made pralines or any kind of candy before. This was easy and delicious. Using the icewater bath is a good suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyKrash
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Omg, delicious! When I die, I hope heaven has these pralines! I'm from GA, and got this recipe because another reviewer said it resembled the ones from River Street Sweets in Savannah (which are to die for!). They do, and they're awesome! The pralines at RSS are really expensive, so I'm super stoked that these taste almost exactly like them. I will be making lots for holiday gifts, and this recipe is DEFINANTLY finding a place in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These had a great taste, but I can never get them to get to the firm consistency. If anyone has any advice on how to get these firm please resond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Excellent praline recipe. I have just come back from a trip to Savannah Georgia and brought River Street Sweets pralines home with me. My family loved them so much they begged me to make some pralines and I have to say, this recipe is very close to River Street Sweets. River Street Sweets pralines have a little more depth in flavor. I used light cream instead of milk. I let them sit 2 to 3 minutes before I poured them onto my cookie sheet. That seemed about the right amount of time...sooner and they would have been too liquidy and too much longer they would have been too hard. Next time I make these I will try using buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was my first try at Pralines and they were to die for!!! I did let them cook a minute or so before making them. They really are the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JStoddard
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! Make sure to make them small, otherwise you get too much candy and not enough nuts. :)I will make this many more times, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
SWEET!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very very good recipe! This was my first time to make pralines, and a candy thermometer and I don't get along, but it was easy to do by the water test. So very creamy, I used buttermilk instead of milk, and did the ice bath, poured 1/2, iced again and poured the rest. Awesome flavor, I will look no further, this recipe is a keeper to use over and over! Thank you for making pralines easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States