Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are so wonderful! Super easy to make. I made these twice already - the first time I used the ice bath like others suggested but I think it cooled my praline batter too quickly so my pralines were crumbly and lumpy. Second time I just beat for 2-3 minutes away from heat and they came out much better. I added 1/2 tsp of salt and used half n half instead of whole milk. Definitely a keeper - I brought these to work for a cookie tasting event, and they were gone before the event even started - they were that delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The best! I grew up in New Orleans and since I moved away Ive missed eating pralines. These are the pralines I remember as a kid. I used half & half and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I am from New Orleans and my dad made these all the time. The only thing I changes I made is, using heavy cream instead of milk. It makes them creamier, also my pecans were not toasted and you can use coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe is okay, instead of milk I used 2/3 cup evaporated milk(makes them creamier) 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, and waited to add the vanilla til they we're cooling so you could taste it more. I don't have a candy thermometer so I did the soft ball test. (put a cup or 2 of water in a bowl with ice cubes, let it get cold while cooking, then drop a small amount in ice water if you can form a soft little ball out of the mixture that flattens down when removing it from the ice water its ready!) After cooking I put pan in ice bath, added vanilla and pecans, and constantly stirring, it will thicken up within a minute or two, then I spoon out on wax paper! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow! Just got back from a trip to Georgia and these ARE like the Savannah pralines! On the advice of others, I used an additional 1/2 c. pecan pieces, chopped, and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (I heard somewhere that that is what they use). I didn't bother toasting the pecans although I imagine they would add some nice flavor. Still tasted good w/untoasted, so if you don't have the time to toast, I wouldn't sweat it. I used a candy thermometer, and after it reached the soft ball stage, I took it off the burner, added the vanilla and stirred quickly. Because the ice bath seemed a little too much overkill for some reviewers (and it wasn't setting fast enough for me!), I just filled the sink w/cold water and dipped the bottom of the pan for maybe 5-10 seconds. I removed the pan and stirred the heck out of it, then used a small cookie scooper to immediately scoop the stuff onto the foiled pans. I figured that if these are as sweet as some say, I'd opt for the smaller sizes. They're ready almost immediately! I love baking, but candies have always eluded me in the success category. I am shocked that these not only turned out, but they turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
freakin' delicious. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Easy and tasty! The texture is perfect. I don't have a thermometer so I tested in cold water every 30 seconds until it balled up like the directions say. My husband said it was almost too sweet for him to eat the whole thing so I would recommend making them small so you can eat as little or as much as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great praline recipe, they turned out to be delicious! I lived in France, so I know a little about French pralines that are made of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
DEFINATELY COOL these before putting them on the foil!! Otherwise they run and have trouble firming. Other than that, they are ADDICTIVE! My daughter and husband are in love with this recipe! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Love at first bite! The only thing that I would recommend is that ice bath, or letting it cool down for a few minutes before spooning it out. No need to change anything in the recipe! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain

Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States