Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy recipe. Take your time and stir and use a thermometer and it is fail proof. I have had the best pralines in Charleston SC and this recipe is just like them. I would also increase pecans to 2 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Melia Easton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
A candy recipe that worked! (Thanks for all the helpful hints in the reviews!). Here is something I tried that was such a huge hit, I thought I'd share. Make the recipe according to instructions, remove from heat and stir, stir. But before it gets too thick, pour over 3-5 quarts popcorn and toss until it finishes crystallizing. Praline popcorn is even better than caramel corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am from Louisiana and I normally don't make pralines because you can get them almost everywhere, but I moved to Iowa and they have no taste here so I decided to try this recipe. This is a great praline. It was easy and YUMMY. I added a half of cup of extra chopped nuts and made smaller portions then normal. If you make candy this is a recipe for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These are easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Looking at all the positive reviews I must be the only one that is doing something wrong... After falling in love with the pralines at River Street Sweets I decided at $17.99 a pound I'd better find a cheaper alternative before I go broke. I did everything according to the recipe. I used butter milk. I didn't do the ice bath step most people were suggesting. I let it cool at room temp while stirring. It poured and set up like it was going to work. After it completely cooled I attempted to peel off of wax paper and it fell apart. I was able to get one complete piece off the paper but it crumbled in my hand. It tasted okay but it was very grainy. I may try it one more time but only an insane person does the same thing and expects a different result. Any advice on what I am doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good. crumbly not chewy just like i like them. easy even for me and i burn everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These are so easy and quick to make. Decided I would try the microwave recipe before did the stovetop one. From start to finish it takes about 20 minutes. Watch carefully when stirring and as soon as it looks like it would hold its shape, work very quickly with two spoons to spoon out the pralines. It sets up very fast once it starts to cool and you cannot reshape once it is spooned out or it looses its sheen. Made about six times for Christmas gifts and family gatherings but I only got about 14 to 20 pralines of a pretty good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Harden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe...I modified it a little based on other reviews. I mixed white sugar, brown sugar, butter, 1/2 c EVAPORATED milk, and 1/2 tsp salt until smooth and melted together before adding pecans. I stirred gently the entire time until it reached "soft ball" stage using thermometer. Removed from heat and added vanilla and stirred 3 minutes off of heat. Instead of using cookie sheet, I used cupcake tins for better portion control and perfection!! These are a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I make these pralines every year for the holidays, they are fabulous! I stir and let mine cool for a few minutes, then pour into paper cupcake liners so they don't spread out so much. Love to give as gifts, along with Remarkable Fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Have never tried making pralines before or even eaten one for that matter. I read most of the reviews and tips before trying this one. First thing I did was buy myself a candy thermometer. According to my taste tester, they came out great! I will be saving this recipe and making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States