Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe...I modified it a little based on other reviews. I mixed white sugar, brown sugar, butter, 1/2 c EVAPORATED milk, and 1/2 tsp salt until smooth and melted together before adding pecans. I stirred gently the entire time until it reached "soft ball" stage using thermometer. Removed from heat and added vanilla and stirred 3 minutes off of heat. Instead of using cookie sheet, I used cupcake tins for better portion control and perfection!! These are a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I make these pralines every year for the holidays, they are fabulous! I stir and let mine cool for a few minutes, then pour into paper cupcake liners so they don't spread out so much. Love to give as gifts, along with Remarkable Fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Have never tried making pralines before or even eaten one for that matter. I read most of the reviews and tips before trying this one. First thing I did was buy myself a candy thermometer. According to my taste tester, they came out great! I will be saving this recipe and making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I couldn't have made this without KikiNola. I used almonds, almond milk, and Earth Balance to make it vegan but her tips about cooking the mixture were important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingnotwriting

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I really missed these after leaving New Orleans, and it is great to find such an easy recipe to make them. I find it is best to let the mix cool a few minutes before spooning it out, because I've noticed its always the last ones that I spoon out that set first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenStudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These are just like the ones at the Savannah Candy Kitchen. You need to work fast when spooning out the candy if you use the ice bath method suggested by other reviewers. The candy hardens in the pan quickly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I gotta say that this is the first time ive ever made pralines and it will definetly not be my last.... These things are phenomenal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefshay3577

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pralines should always be made with evaporated milk. Otherwise this was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These pralines are excellent. I use exactly the same recipe which I got when attending a cooking class 20 years ago at the New Orleans School of Cooking on Decatur Street in New Orleans. The instructions in my recipe are to cook mixture to soft ball stage then remove from heat and stir until mixture starts to thicken and become cloudy. Immediately start to drop candy by spoonfuls onto large piece of parchment paper working quickly before the candy sets. Allow to cool before removing from paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Way too many suggestions in the reviews, so let me make another one. I recommend NOT using the ice bath if you use buttermilk or evaporated milk. But if you do and it gets hard too quickly, put it back on the stove on low, add a touch of milk, and let it remelt before dropping onto the wax paper. It may have some crystals but you will save the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States