Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I do not normally change out the ingredients but I used this recipe as a base to make the soup. SO I can't rate the recipe above but I can say it was a helpful start and I appreciated how good it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Washington
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I used the advice of others, adding garlic, omitted cornstarch and cooked it with a big hambone and chopped up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Washington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Hearty, flavorful soup -- and super easy to make. I used half the butter and substituted low-fat cream cheese for the heavy cream. I only had russet potatoes on hand, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup! We used half and half instead of heavy cream and did not put it in the blender. The first time we used leeks and the second time we just used onions - the leeks were definitely better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I've made this twice now and it is FANTASTIC. It's so easy and so filling. I did as others suggested. I added 4 cloves of crushed/coarse chopped garlic to the leeks. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half. When it's done I pureed it with a hand blender/immersion blender. I am a big black pepper fan so I am pretty liberal with that too. I also froze it in several containers and it freezes really well - comes out as delicious and smooth as when it's fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Added 2 cloves of garlic, not sure if that really did anything. At any rate, this was delicious and easy. Also, last minute I added some ham, and I think that really helped round out the flavour. Oh also only added 1/2 cup butter, and used 1 cup whipping cream and 1 cup half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is the first time I've had potato leek soup and we all loved it! I followed the advice of earlier reviews as to using only a half cup of butter and I used half and half instead of heavy cream, added the minced garlic and some onion powder. It was perfect. Oh yes, I also used my mixer to break down the potato chunks a little more. The kids loved it as much as the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. I followed other sugesstions and halved the butter and used half-n-half. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this soup was very delicious. I always make the recipes exactly as the recipe states the first time, then I look at reviews and think about what changes I could make the next time. I would definitely half the butter, you definitely don't need that much and I think I will go ahead and try the half and half. Still, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States