Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup! We used half and half instead of heavy cream and did not put it in the blender. The first time we used leeks and the second time we just used onions - the leeks were definitely better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I've made this twice now and it is FANTASTIC. It's so easy and so filling. I did as others suggested. I added 4 cloves of crushed/coarse chopped garlic to the leeks. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half. When it's done I pureed it with a hand blender/immersion blender. I am a big black pepper fan so I am pretty liberal with that too. I also froze it in several containers and it freezes really well - comes out as delicious and smooth as when it's fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Added 2 cloves of garlic, not sure if that really did anything. At any rate, this was delicious and easy. Also, last minute I added some ham, and I think that really helped round out the flavour. Oh also only added 1/2 cup butter, and used 1 cup whipping cream and 1 cup half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is the first time I've had potato leek soup and we all loved it! I followed the advice of earlier reviews as to using only a half cup of butter and I used half and half instead of heavy cream, added the minced garlic and some onion powder. It was perfect. Oh yes, I also used my mixer to break down the potato chunks a little more. The kids loved it as much as the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. I followed other sugesstions and halved the butter and used half-n-half. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this soup was very delicious. I always make the recipes exactly as the recipe states the first time, then I look at reviews and think about what changes I could make the next time. I would definitely half the butter, you definitely don't need that much and I think I will go ahead and try the half and half. Still, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic! A half a stick of butter was plenty, I thought. We absolutely loved this simple soup. It had so much flavor and we both had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Need to cut butter in half. Added ham. 1c heavy cream/1c low fat milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I don't typically comment on recipes either way, as I know there are many different styles of cooking and many different tastes. However, I feel strongly enough to comment on this one. It was absolutely terrible. Definitely use the recommendation of halving the butter, and add ham or bacon or ANYTHING else. I will not be making this again; there are plenty of other soup recipes out there that will not clog my arteries and disappoint my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
One of my soup go-to's... my family requests that I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States