Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very simple for when I feel lazy. I usually add some garlic since I love it. At the end of cooking I take out some potatoes and leek and using an immersion blender (aka stick blender) blend the soup then I add the veggies i took out and pulse a few times. I think that the taste with heavy cream is not very good so i always use half and half i would give it 3 1/2 stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Prepared as written this made a nice thick and very rich soup. Just the way I love it. Very easy and wonderful recipe. Next time though, I may halve the butter and use half-and-half for the cream. Or not. Hard to improve on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used three leeks - almost all of them except the very ends (green end). Used yukon golds, 1 cup evaporated milk, 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Added a lot of salt. It was flavorful and bland enough for my kids. Think next time I'll add fresh garlic. Pretty good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Otankis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love this recipe.... I've been making it for a few years recently I've added lump crab meat or andouille sausage & shrimp to vary it and it has come out so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Ive never had leeks before. I bought some because I found this recipe and wanted to try it because I love soup. I can eat it everyday in winter. This soup is delicious. I didnt use heavy cream bcuz I didn't have any and I dont need the extra calories.. I used evaporated milk instead. I loved it. Leeks are wonderful. Im goin to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it at least 2 times a month in the winter. Most of the time I leave out the cream and cornstarch and just put 1/2 of the soup in blender to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was very greasy with the 1 cup butter. The taste itself was okay... simple flavors, not much to it. If I made adjustments like a lot of other reviewers, it would pretty much be a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
We all make adjustments to fit our taste. For us I puree the soup after its been allowed to cool. My family likes it moderately pureed. On so doing you can cut way back on the cream making it tasty and healthy. I just increase the broth to adjust liquid. Use full milk and only half as is indicated here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Super easy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I seasoned it with Old Bay and added some cubed mahi mahi and a can of corn for a delicious fish chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States