Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Next time I will halve the butter. I didn't have cream so I used lowfat milk. And I used russet potatoes. I added a dash of cayenne and a couple shakes of ground thyme. Then I used an immersion blender to make it thicker yet still have it chunky. It was absolutely delicious. Boyfriend raved. Will make again and again! #2 - Well I made this again and halved the butter and accidentally bought fat free vegetable broth instead of chicken and used lowfat milk instead of cream. It's just as delicous as the first time if not better. Don't forget a dash of cayenne & a couple of shakes of rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicious! We also cut the amount of butter in half, and it was still great. I liked that it was a creamy gluten free soup without any tweaking by me. It made a large batch, so we have another dinner in the freezer now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WingedJetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe. I used slightly less leeks and vegetable broth instead of chicken and was pleasantly surprised at how deliciously the soup turned out. I grew up eating potato leek soup in the wintry months of MN and am so pleased to have found a comparable recipe suitable for my vegetarian lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this with a homemade Chicken Broth, regular potatoes, and only 3/4 cup butter. We added fresh garlic and it came out AMAZING. It was our first time even cooking/eating the soup and now will become a staple in our household. I did not puree it yet but plan on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
great basic recipe for a great soup! I pureed some of the soup for a creamier texture, cut down on the butter to a half cup, added a pinch of cayenne pepper and added garlic as another reviewer suggested. this is going in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
OMG this is wonderful. The only change I made was to mash it prior to serving. Almost like a puree... YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is so simple that you can't go wrong, I did cut the butter in half and will do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I used water instead of chicken broth and it still turned out great. We finished almost the entire pot in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This soup is awesome just the way it is! Everyone who tryed it, wanted the recipe. Really great flavor. You could also use this soup as a base for several other types of soups such as: clam chowder or chili chicken chowder.... So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have made this soup twice now; the first time I followed the recipe exactly as it was written, and it was fabulous. Even my young children loved it. The second time, I tweaked it a little by cooking a bit of bacon with the leeks and also adding three cloves of garlic and a dash of celery salt. Still just as delicious, and this is going on our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States