Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this today and it is really yummy. I love dishes that only require a few ingredients and minimal prep to pull together. I also used just 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and used half n half instead of cream. Also added garlic towards the end of cooking the leeks - because I add garlic to everything! My family loves clams so now that I know this recipe is a keeper, can't wait to try it that way - as the original poster suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizsarah77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this soup last night I used 1/2 and 1/2 it was GREAT! Will def. Make it again it was a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Lots of bang for your buck on this one. Simple and delicious. However, I did cut down the amount of butter and cream, added a bouquet garni of sage, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf, Then sprinkled with bacon crumble as a garnish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for my family this evening, All I can say is WOW, everyone loved this so much it was recommended to the Holiday Menu. I also volunteer with the U.S.C.G. Auxiliary as an AuxFS (Auxiliary Food Service) Chef, Cannot wait to cook this for our troops. Mark-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I halved the butter and used 1 cup half/half cream and 1 cup skim milk. I also added 5 cloves garlic to the leeks, 1 cup shredded old cheddar and 6 slices crumbled bacon right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe, I loved how creamy it was!!!! I served it with mild sourdough bread. It was simple to make and the whole family loved it! I made the potatoes in bigger pieces than told for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Kapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Liked this recipe. But only used enough butter to cook the leeks. Added 3 cloves of garlic, minced and a couple of pinches of red pepper flakes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I only use 1 stick of butter, and add soft-cooked bacon to the soup while it is cooking. This is a great recipe to use as a base and alter for your own needs. Drop the corn starch and use a wand blender to mash some of the potatoes for a heartier chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pekoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
this is delicious. I used coconut milk in a can, and veggie broth, to keep it vegan. At the end, I added dill dip mix to add some more pop! SOooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this exactly as stated and it was delicious! Both my husband and I loved it! Will def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States