Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
great basic recipe for a great soup! I pureed some of the soup for a creamier texture, cut down on the butter to a half cup, added a pinch of cayenne pepper and added garlic as another reviewer suggested. this is going in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
OMG this is wonderful. The only change I made was to mash it prior to serving. Almost like a puree... YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is so simple that you can't go wrong, I did cut the butter in half and will do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I used water instead of chicken broth and it still turned out great. We finished almost the entire pot in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This soup is awesome just the way it is! Everyone who tryed it, wanted the recipe. Really great flavor. You could also use this soup as a base for several other types of soups such as: clam chowder or chili chicken chowder.... So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have made this soup twice now; the first time I followed the recipe exactly as it was written, and it was fabulous. Even my young children loved it. The second time, I tweaked it a little by cooking a bit of bacon with the leeks and also adding three cloves of garlic and a dash of celery salt. Still just as delicious, and this is going on our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This soup is delicious! Made a few modifications to make it a bit healthier. Cut the butter down to 3/4c, used fat free chicken broth and fat free half and half instead of cream. I also put it in the blender before serving, it was thick and creamy, I also added a little crisp crumbled bacon on top before serving. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This made a fantastic soup! I used half the amount of butter as Julie suggested in the comments, a mixure of potato varieties (red, yukon gold, russet), didn't peel them, a combination of half-and-half, whipping cream and 2% milk, and added diced ham in the last 5 minutes of cooking as another reviewer suggested. I think this soup would be tasty without the ham but is sure didn't hurt. ;) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Yummoh! I took other's advice and added some celery, didn't add salt, cut butter to 1/2 Cup, and used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream. My husband suggested adding some ground spicy Italian sausage.. which we did and the soup tasted just like the Zuppa Toscana at the Olive Garden! I will make this soup again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Loved it! As the author states, it does taste great the next day (and beyond), so it made great leftovers. I used milk instead of cream to cut some of the calories, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States