Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I loved the smell but it tasted awful! To much banana flavor even after reducing the amount of bananas to 1 banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
too much salt. needs more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I enjoy this recipe but I leave off the sugar and salt and let the banana reduce completely and then add a handful of blueberries and a sliced strawberry (single serving) to top it off once I put in a bowl - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great starting point recipe. I modified it quite a bit (no bananas, brown sugar instead of white, pinch of salt instead of full amount) and it turned out great. It was my first time making porridge, and it was a huge success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very easy to put together and a nice hearty breakfast on a cold day. I added a little brown sugar to the top because I thought it needed to be slightly sweeter. I did not care for the texture of the bananas cooked into the porridge. They were a little too mushy for my personal preference. I would make this again, but, add some dried fruit and nuts instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple, fast and delicious recipe! Instead of sugar, I used honey. The taste of cooked banana combined with cinnamon makes the trick of this recipe. I really enjoyed this porridge and will make it again as long as I have bananas in my fruit basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was really weird. I cut the amount of salt in half and it was still way too salty. The whole thing tasted like salty bananas, very strange. Next time I will leave the salt out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe -- easy, quick, delicious and versatile. It's great as is, but sometimes I leave out the bananas and add apples, dates, peaches, apricots, walnuts and/or berries --whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This porridge is great, I love the Cinnomon in it, I did add about 2 tabs. Heavy whipping cream per serving to it to add extra flavor to it, and then it was great. My kids also liked it with a little more Cinnomon and some rasins in it, but the recipe was easy and quick to make, a must in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was pretty bland until I added a ton of brown sugar. Maybe next time I'll add some more spices to it. My toddler ate a whole bowl of it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States