Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would - but that was on my second try. The first try was a bit of a disaster but still tasted terrific. I'd like to pass on what I learned: The amount of ingredients were on the mark, except for the pepper. 1)make sure you slice the onion and sweet potatoes very thin - they will then cook within the hr. 2) Cut the apples thicker - not too thick - since they take a shorter amt of time to cook (if too thin they will turn to mush) 3) Use the "GRANULATED" brown suger (I used the old fashioned kind the first time and it wouldn't melt - the pepper got stuck in the sugar - I had to mush in down - not a pretty sight!). I also cut back on the pepper the second time - we love pepper, especially on sweet potatoes but found that 1 tsp. was sufficient). I cooked this in a corningware baking dish with cover and the second time it was a pretty presentation and everyone loved it. It is fun and easy to prepare. One pork chop per serving is not enough in my house!!! Believe it or not - it is a light meal. You might want to serve a salad with it since some were looking for a third chop! The pork really picks up the juices while it is cooking. This is a keeper and a really quick meal - thanks Ashbeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
My family enjoyed this recipe a lot. Instead of sprinkling the chops with salt and pepper, I used Morton's Seasoning Salt, which is a nice blend of seasonings. I did mix cinnamon with the sugar and made a little more than what is called for. Next time I would not use the onions. My family did not think the onions blended well with the sweet potatoes and apples. I also did not season the casserole with the 2 tsp. of pepper and the 1 tsp of salt. Somehow I didn't think that would go well with the sugared potatoes and apple slices. I would suggest that if you make this recipe, you microwave the sliced sweet potatoes for a couple minutes to give them a head start in cooking. I found the potatoes were a little hard and the meat a little overdone, following the recipe. I think if you started the potatoes, you could cook this recipe for about 45 minutes and get juicier chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Very simple. Tasted just like I hoped it would. I left out the sweet potatoes and used season salt instead of normal salt. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
We loved this recipe. It was a breeze to put together and was simply delicious. I did brown the chops before baking. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I loved this flavor combination. The chops were so tender and moist we barely needed a knife to cut them. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This is like eating at a beautiful candy store EVERY BITE IS GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!It might sound weird but it is SOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!! I loved it THANK YOU I am now going to buy new pants in the morning I grew out of them last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This dish was yummy. Even better the next day for lunch. My husband gobbled it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Excellent. I've never been able to get my teenager to eat sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This is fast,easy and exquisite. I used three pork loin chops, each 3/4" thick. On top of them I added three sprigs of fresh Rosemary. The only other modification was some butter crumbled on top of the brown sugar. It is a perfect marriage of scent, texture, taste and satisfaction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was awesome. My boyfriend has never wanted pork chops - until now. The chops were a bit dry, but that's my fault. Please remember to cover the dish!! I think next time I'll sear the chops before I put them in. The potatoes were perfect. I even threw in some button mushrooms after 45 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States