Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Me and my husband loved it, so easy too. The picky kids, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was very good.The only change i made was putting it in the crock pot.Worked out vey well for the most part.Next time i will add the sweet potatoes & apple a bit later as they were a wee bit over done.In the end this was simple with a very good flavor both my kids loved it and i had no leftovers.I will be making this again.Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I'm still getting used to "sweet" dinners, and I'd eat this again and again! Based on others' recommendations, we cooked a little longer for the potatoes, but I think it was a little too long for the pork - so I might recommend slightly pre-cooking the potatoes. We opted to chop all onions, apples, and potatoes, which I think I would prefer to layering big onion rings. We also used yellow onions, which I think provided the perfect balance. White onions may have been too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
You wouldn't think this would go together so well but one of the best porkchop recipes I've had. The chops come out really juicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this with the maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, mustard, and brown sugar sauce that another reviewer recommended, and that was the best part. I cooked it covered at 375 for an hour, but the sweet potatoes (sliced less a 1/4-inch thick) and the onions (even thinner) were still crunchy. If I make it again, I will microwave the potatoes and onions for a few minutes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I loved this! I took others advice and microwaved the sweet potatoes for about 3 minutes before cooking the rest and it worked great. I also agree 2 tsp. of pepper is way too much, as is a tsp. of salt. The combination of pork, onion, sweet potato and apple is so good and simple. Super easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S. S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is delicious but I would recommend that you slice the sweet potatoes thin, maybe a quarter inch and separate the onions into individual rings. and cut the apples about 1/2 inch thick. This way everything is done at the same time. I browned the chops before adding them to the pan seasoning them with the salt and pepper, first (I only used about a teaspoon of pepper). Once in the baking dish I poured a teaspoon of maple syrup over each chop, and gave them a light sprinkling of cajun seasoning. I then layered on the onions, sweet potatoes and apples, sprinkled on half of the brown sugar then repeated it for a second layer. I drizzled more maple syrup over the top and added a small amount of water to the baking dish. This is a wonderful recipe and you can easily put your own twist on it and still have a delicious meal in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
WONDERFUL and different from same old porkchops... I used a casserole dish to make...starting with one potato layer, onion, salt and peppered, sweet potato layer, apple layer, sweet potato layer (used one russett potato, 2 sweet potatoes and 1 red delicious apple) placed pork chops on top, covered dish and baked at 375 for about an hour-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great, I added 1/2 cup orange juice so it wouldn't stick to the pan, but I didn't need to, it made its own juice. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
terrific as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States