Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was so good, even my fiance who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate it up. Here are the changes I made: 1) I placed the chops in a glass 9 x 13 dish 2) I cooked the whole sweet potatoes in the microwave (after washing and poking holes) for about 4 minutes, then peeled the skin off and chopped 3) I only used 1 onion 4) I put the sweet potato, onion, and apple in a big bowl and mixed it with the brown sugar, a small bit of pepper, and a few good grinds of sea salt. The aroma of this cooking was amazing. This was a great dish for the first day of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this in the crock pot, and layered the ingredients. I also added about a half teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
5 stars when you tweak it a little to make it your own! I will definitely make this again. I followed the recipe pretty closely the first time, though I did take the suggestion to nuke the sweet potaotes about 2.5 minutes and toss the apples, potatoes and onion (I only used about 1/2 an onion since that's all I had room for) with the seasoning before adding to the skillet. The pepper was too much, so I'd cut back on that next time down to about 1 tsp total and I wanted more of the brown sugar flavor so I'll add more of that next time, and maybe a little more seasoning (garlic, etc.) on the pork chops. Otherwise YUMMY! It was nice to have something a little different, and the potatoes were SO nice and tasty coming right out of the oven. It makes a lot of its own juice, and I just drizzled a little of that over the top of everything for some of the sweet flavor. The apples are great in this. I used one gala and one granny smith. Definitely cut them a little thicker so they don't just turn to mush - they're perfect with the pork. Hubby wasn't thrilled with the onion in this dish, he liked the focus on the sweet and didn't think they meshed so we'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Almost 5 stars, but not quite. The flavours of the onions, potatoes and apples were fantastic, but the pork chops were bland and overcooked (even though I took them out after 45 minutes). I also cut the amount of salt and pepper in half because I knew that would be too much. I will definitely make again, but with a few changes. Next time, I'll season the pork with some herbs and/or spices as well as the salt and pepper. I'll also take the pork chops out after 30-35 minutes and cover then with foil to keep them warm and then put everything else back in to cook for another 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I used a pork tenderloin in a casserole dish. I cut the potatoes into about 1/2 inch slices and microwaved about 3 minutes first. Put the sweet potatoes, apples and onions (only used one and that was plenty!) on top. I think more apples would have been good. Didn't taste the brown sugar at all, very subtle. So if you want it to taste sweeter, add more. My 2-year old ate and ate and ate. He really loved it. My husband liked it too. I cooked it at 425 for about 30 minutes covered and then another 5 or so uncovered. Everything was perfectly cooked. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Me and my husband loved it, so easy too. The picky kids, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was very good.The only change i made was putting it in the crock pot.Worked out vey well for the most part.Next time i will add the sweet potatoes & apple a bit later as they were a wee bit over done.In the end this was simple with a very good flavor both my kids loved it and i had no leftovers.I will be making this again.Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I'm still getting used to "sweet" dinners, and I'd eat this again and again! Based on others' recommendations, we cooked a little longer for the potatoes, but I think it was a little too long for the pork - so I might recommend slightly pre-cooking the potatoes. We opted to chop all onions, apples, and potatoes, which I think I would prefer to layering big onion rings. We also used yellow onions, which I think provided the perfect balance. White onions may have been too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
You wouldn't think this would go together so well but one of the best porkchop recipes I've had. The chops come out really juicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this with the maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, mustard, and brown sugar sauce that another reviewer recommended, and that was the best part. I cooked it covered at 375 for an hour, but the sweet potatoes (sliced less a 1/4-inch thick) and the onions (even thinner) were still crunchy. If I make it again, I will microwave the potatoes and onions for a few minutes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States