Poppy Seed Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love it. Added almond flavoring and toasted slivered almonds. Used lemon filling (found on here) and buttercream to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This cake came out great. I did something a little different with the glaze though. I made a sugar, water, butter sauce on the stove and added a quarter cup of orange juice and a quarter cup of 43 Liqueur and then poured half the mixture back into the bundt pan and put the cake back into it. I then poured the rest of the mixture on top of the cake and let it soak it all up. It landed up giving it a nice orangy flavor and tasted awesome. Next time, I will put some of the 43 Liqueur into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A nice basic cake recipe with real ingredients, and very easy to make, too. This recipe is just as easy as the ones that use cake and/or pudding mixes. I used half whole wheat flour and added a little lemon zest & juice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This cake came out perfectly! It was the right texture and the flavor was delicious. It also freezes well if you have any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Fantastic cake! Super easy. Tastes like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this this morning and made 12 muffins and 1 loaf and it was absolutely perfect. The only thing I did differently wad that I did not use vanilla and used 1 tsp of pure lemon extract, wonderfully lemon - poppy seed flavor. No glaze for us, they were sweet enough just like they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KDA1114
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was delicious. Not overly sweet. I made a lemon glaze for it- made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is the easiest Poppyseed Cake recipe I have ever used! It is great. I made this with Custard filling. So delicious, you won't go wrong with this gem. I would like to share the one i made myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good stuff!! I did use some poppyseed solo brand filling I had in the fridge I also switched out the evap. milk for 1 3/4 scant cup of half and half (had no evap. milk on hand), and added a lemon glaze. The cake is very moist and tasty!! Will be making this one again =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
i do a similar recipe...but i use poppyseed pie filling from pennsylvania!!!!try it! it works!otherwise, its the same recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States