Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Wow! This is a great recipe for a moldable chocolate. My friend and I made 30 white and regular chocolate roses and 60 assorted leaves to place on a full sheetcake for an anniversary party. Just let it set out a room temperature overnight, otherwise its too sticky to work with. We had to dust our hands only occasionally while working with it. We dusted our hands with a little cocoa powder for the dark chocolate ones, and a little vanilla protein powder for the white chocolate. Didn't think to try oiling our hands with a little vegetable oil! Thanks Emily B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I am so glad to find this recipe! I have looked everywhere for it. The decorations that can be made are as endless as your imagination.Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I used white chocolate, and enrobed a cake with it. It turned out perfectly. Will definately use again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great, Wonderfull. I used it perfectly to make some really freaky monster like features for some food photography. I also managed to do it with some butter scotch chips for some added color. i did take the idea of one of the others as well and left it at room temp to make it less sticky ((Needed for the butter scotch)). Adding some color to white chocolate can really make the cake...Ummm...Well it made it look like it was bleeding. Food Photos turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This worked out wonderfully! I was just amazed at how easy it was to use! I made the most BEAUTIFUL roses with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This stuff is pretty awesome, I'm very pleased. I made a chocolate cake for my mother in laws birthday, and used this to make roses for the top. The roses themselves nearly made me pull my hair out, but I found that a tiny heart cookie cutter makes the perfect petal to wrap with. They were a hit, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne F
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I used this to decorate a wedding cake and it was just what I needed. Everyone raved about it. It does not harden or dry out overnight but may over a longer time period. I used Bernard Callebaut chips and it was delish although it was difficult to cut the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
it is so simple! i had sticking problems big time, but that is my own fault. the pieces i used drooped, maybe my fault again. white chocolate takes color well. it is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miki
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I used white chocolate and cut the corn syrup to 1/2 c. since white chocolate is softer then regular or dark chocolate and it came out perfect!!! I used to make my daughters birthday cake and got sooo many compliments on it. I pinched off a few peices before rolling it out and used liquid food color to make other colors for decorating. This was really easy to work with, easier then fondant if you ask me and it tastes so much better too. It tasted like a white chocolate tootsie roll (my fav. candy). Yummy. This will be my new way of making covered cakes and decorations. Thank you so very much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Easy and fun cake topping. I used this in two ways when making decorated cupcakes. Firstly, I shaped it into chocolate roses. Temperature is extremely important in handling. Making the petals first and letting them rest at room temperature ~10 mins before joining them into a flower eliminated wilting. Additionally I rolled it thin ~1/8" and layered it over peanut butter frosting on chocolate cupcakes. It was a huge hit especially with children. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States