Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by miki
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I used white chocolate and cut the corn syrup to 1/2 c. since white chocolate is softer then regular or dark chocolate and it came out perfect!!! I used to make my daughters birthday cake and got sooo many compliments on it. I pinched off a few peices before rolling it out and used liquid food color to make other colors for decorating. This was really easy to work with, easier then fondant if you ask me and it tastes so much better too. It tasted like a white chocolate tootsie roll (my fav. candy). Yummy. This will be my new way of making covered cakes and decorations. Thank you so very much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Wow! This is a great recipe for a moldable chocolate. My friend and I made 30 white and regular chocolate roses and 60 assorted leaves to place on a full sheetcake for an anniversary party. Just let it set out a room temperature overnight, otherwise its too sticky to work with. We had to dust our hands only occasionally while working with it. We dusted our hands with a little cocoa powder for the dark chocolate ones, and a little vanilla protein powder for the white chocolate. Didn't think to try oiling our hands with a little vegetable oil! Thanks Emily B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is great! I made about 85 white roses for my mom's 85th birthday.(I used confectioners sugar instead of cocoa mix---but vegetabale oil sounds like a good alternative too!). They covered the top of my mom's birthday 4 tier chocolate birthday cake. It was gorgeous. A real show stopper. Everyone wanted a picture!!! I have 2 requests for this birthday cake for next year! I've been experimenting with the plastic and used it to mold bowling pins and bowling balls for my 7 y.o. birthday cake; I made a school bus for the teachers when they started school this year. It's a long time to learn how to manipulate the plastic chocolate but it is sooooooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This stuff is pretty awesome, I'm very pleased. I made a chocolate cake for my mother in laws birthday, and used this to make roses for the top. The roses themselves nearly made me pull my hair out, but I found that a tiny heart cookie cutter makes the perfect petal to wrap with. They were a hit, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I found this recipe really good for mouldable chocolate, however while I left it at room temperature, it's currently winter here and it got down to -9degrees celcius overnight. When I got to it in the morning, it was too hard to do anything with. I found putting it in the microwave for 30seconds helped. The roses also looked a bit dull after I made them so microwaved them slightly which brought out a real shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I found this recipe very easy to make and very easy to work with. I put the plastic wrap on a cookie sheet and then poured the chocolate on so that I could take it off the counter while it set, but I wish I had rolled it a little thinner. It was probably almost a quarter inch thick, mostly because I was afraid it would tear if too thin. I used a melon baller to cut circles and half circles to use as petals. The downside to this recipe is that the final product was not delicious. In fact, I found it completely inedible. As my fiance put it, "It's as if you came across a tootsie roll from Halloween at Easter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I would give this more stars if you had 'um!! I've never worked with anything but icing for decorating a cake with, but thought this looked easy enough. Used white chocolate chips and the mixture separated a bit when poured onto the plastic wrap, but that didn't bother me a bit! My daughter wanted a "big sub sandwich" instead of a cake for her 15th birthday, but made her a cake-sub. I used the "Plastic chocolate" to make the pickles, lettuce and tomatoes... WONDERFUL!!! TIP: Instead of using oil or powdered anything to roll this out, I rolled it out between a silicone mat and a piece of parchment paper -NO STICKING! Also, when it started to get a bit sticky from working with it, I wrapped it in plastic and popped it in the frig for a few minutes... Perfection! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne F
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I used this to decorate a wedding cake and it was just what I needed. Everyone raved about it. It does not harden or dry out overnight but may over a longer time period. I used Bernard Callebaut chips and it was delish although it was difficult to cut the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
LOVE this recipe. I tried a much fussier one from a cookbook and it was awful (grainy and gooey) but this is so simple and a nice consistancy. I found a few minutes in the fridge help if it gets too soft. This recipe made enough to cover a two layer 10" cake with leftover for a few roses. I'm using it in place of marzipan under the royal icing on a mint, chocolate cake for a bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I am so glad to find this recipe! I have looked everywhere for it. The decorations that can be made are as endless as your imagination.Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States