Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I am so glad to find this recipe! I have looked everywhere for it. The decorations that can be made are as endless as your imagination.Thanks for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Wow! This is a great recipe for a moldable chocolate. My friend and I made 30 white and regular chocolate roses and 60 assorted leaves to place on a full sheetcake for an anniversary party. Just let it set out a room temperature overnight, otherwise its too sticky to work with. We had to dust our hands only occasionally while working with it. We dusted our hands with a little cocoa powder for the dark chocolate ones, and a little vanilla protein powder for the white chocolate. Didn't think to try oiling our hands with a little vegetable oil! Thanks Emily B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I used white chocolate, and enrobed a cake with it. It turned out perfectly. Will definately use again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great, Wonderfull. I used it perfectly to make some really freaky monster like features for some food photography. I also managed to do it with some butter scotch chips for some added color. i did take the idea of one of the others as well and left it at room temp to make it less sticky ((Needed for the butter scotch)). Adding some color to white chocolate can really make the cake...Ummm...Well it made it look like it was bleeding. Food Photos turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This worked out wonderfully! I was just amazed at how easy it was to use! I made the most BEAUTIFUL roses with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This stuff is pretty awesome, I'm very pleased. I made a chocolate cake for my mother in laws birthday, and used this to make roses for the top. The roses themselves nearly made me pull my hair out, but I found that a tiny heart cookie cutter makes the perfect petal to wrap with. They were a hit, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Followed recipe exactly and it's too sticky and soft to form roses or leaves. Don't know what to do with this lump of gooey stuff now. I ended up purchasing real roses to decorate my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I found this recipe really good for mouldable chocolate, however while I left it at room temperature, it's currently winter here and it got down to -9degrees celcius overnight. When I got to it in the morning, it was too hard to do anything with. I found putting it in the microwave for 30seconds helped. The roses also looked a bit dull after I made them so microwaved them slightly which brought out a real shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne F
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I used this to decorate a wedding cake and it was just what I needed. Everyone raved about it. It does not harden or dry out overnight but may over a longer time period. I used Bernard Callebaut chips and it was delish although it was difficult to cut the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I found this recipe very easy to make and very easy to work with. I put the plastic wrap on a cookie sheet and then poured the chocolate on so that I could take it off the counter while it set, but I wish I had rolled it a little thinner. It was probably almost a quarter inch thick, mostly because I was afraid it would tear if too thin. I used a melon baller to cut circles and half circles to use as petals. The downside to this recipe is that the final product was not delicious. In fact, I found it completely inedible. As my fiance put it, "It's as if you came across a tootsie roll from Halloween at Easter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States