Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by miki
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I used white chocolate and cut the corn syrup to 1/2 c. since white chocolate is softer then regular or dark chocolate and it came out perfect!!! I used to make my daughters birthday cake and got sooo many compliments on it. I pinched off a few peices before rolling it out and used liquid food color to make other colors for decorating. This was really easy to work with, easier then fondant if you ask me and it tastes so much better too. It tasted like a white chocolate tootsie roll (my fav. candy). Yummy. This will be my new way of making covered cakes and decorations. Thank you so very much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
it is so simple! i had sticking problems big time, but that is my own fault. the pieces i used drooped, maybe my fault again. white chocolate takes color well. it is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
LOVE this recipe. I tried a much fussier one from a cookbook and it was awful (grainy and gooey) but this is so simple and a nice consistancy. I found a few minutes in the fridge help if it gets too soft. This recipe made enough to cover a two layer 10" cake with leftover for a few roses. I'm using it in place of marzipan under the royal icing on a mint, chocolate cake for a bridal shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I found this recipe very easy to make and very easy to work with. I put the plastic wrap on a cookie sheet and then poured the chocolate on so that I could take it off the counter while it set, but I wish I had rolled it a little thinner. It was probably almost a quarter inch thick, mostly because I was afraid it would tear if too thin. I used a melon baller to cut circles and half circles to use as petals. The downside to this recipe is that the final product was not delicious. In fact, I found it completely inedible. As my fiance put it, "It's as if you came across a tootsie roll from Halloween at Easter."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne F
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I used this to decorate a wedding cake and it was just what I needed. Everyone raved about it. It does not harden or dry out overnight but may over a longer time period. I used Bernard Callebaut chips and it was delish although it was difficult to cut the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I found this recipe really good for mouldable chocolate, however while I left it at room temperature, it's currently winter here and it got down to -9degrees celcius overnight. When I got to it in the morning, it was too hard to do anything with. I found putting it in the microwave for 30seconds helped. The roses also looked a bit dull after I made them so microwaved them slightly which brought out a real shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Followed recipe exactly and it's too sticky and soft to form roses or leaves. Don't know what to do with this lump of gooey stuff now. I ended up purchasing real roses to decorate my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This stuff is pretty awesome, I'm very pleased. I made a chocolate cake for my mother in laws birthday, and used this to make roses for the top. The roses themselves nearly made me pull my hair out, but I found that a tiny heart cookie cutter makes the perfect petal to wrap with. They were a hit, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This worked out wonderfully! I was just amazed at how easy it was to use! I made the most BEAUTIFUL roses with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Lilleskov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great, Wonderfull. I used it perfectly to make some really freaky monster like features for some food photography. I also managed to do it with some butter scotch chips for some added color. i did take the idea of one of the others as well and left it at room temp to make it less sticky ((Needed for the butter scotch)). Adding some color to white chocolate can really make the cake...Ummm...Well it made it look like it was bleeding. Food Photos turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States