Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This stuff is really neat. I don't think I have it quite right yet but still managed to make roses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great Plastic Chocolate! This was so much fun to play with and tasted yummy too! I did mine with white chocolate chips and made a mushroom cake for my sons birthday:) So much tastier than fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
this was a little hard to shape, but i like the taste better than fondant. if you like tootsie rolls, this ones for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I seemed to have the opposite problem that everyone else had. Mine came out so stiff that I am not sure how I will roll it out. I made a batch of semi-sweet chocolate as well as a batch of white chocolate (used melting wafers). I carefully measured and followed all directions. The only thing I can think of, is that perhaps the corn syrup was too thick. I will try again and am open to suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Wonderful! We made this to cover a Playstation birthday cake for my 10 year old grandson. (The cake was a thin 3 layer devils food with a whipped frosting as the filling.) He was overheard saying to a friend "Yeah, my cake is really cool." and four people attending his party said "this is the cake I want for my birthday"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Love this recipe!!! It is tougher to work with than fondant but you actually want to eat these decorations! I will use it now instead of fondant! Easy to make too! I use white candy melts and then after it is set and ready to use just add color and shape, mold, play as much as you want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKSADIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I think its a great base... again, like someone else had stated... white chocolate gets a little less corn syrup. I have noticed, at least with white chocolate (i did that one first to decorate a chocolate cheesecake with red roses) it can be a bit hard to work with if your hands are warm... so i will periodically set it aside and work after my hands cool off. If it gets a little hard from sitting out (i made it, and worked so much I couldnt mold it for about two days) just work it, like you would clay, making it more pliable with warmth. I find the peices just on the outside, the most "dry" are the most moldable, because it will not slide back into a round ball as easily. Oh, and rose petals? I find it helps to make a ball, and squish it down with a finger in the middle... then shape it into a teardrop. In general, I get really nice petals that way. I make about ten and then start to shape, peicing them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Highland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
It was a fun experiance. I'm having trouble with it because it is chocolate and the warmth from my hands melts it before i can mold it. If I were molding something big and thick it would be a different story I think.The recipe is a good one though and will definately use it more like fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is great! I made about 85 white roses for my mom's 85th birthday.(I used confectioners sugar instead of cocoa mix---but vegetabale oil sounds like a good alternative too!). They covered the top of my mom's birthday 4 tier chocolate birthday cake. It was gorgeous. A real show stopper. Everyone wanted a picture!!! I have 2 requests for this birthday cake for next year! I've been experimenting with the plastic and used it to mold bowling pins and bowling balls for my 7 y.o. birthday cake; I made a school bus for the teachers when they started school this year. It's a long time to learn how to manipulate the plastic chocolate but it is sooooooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Easy and fun cake topping. I used this in two ways when making decorated cupcakes. Firstly, I shaped it into chocolate roses. Temperature is extremely important in handling. Making the petals first and letting them rest at room temperature ~10 mins before joining them into a flower eliminated wilting. Additionally I rolled it thin ~1/8" and layered it over peanut butter frosting on chocolate cupcakes. It was a huge hit especially with children. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States