Plastic Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Fantastic! Easy to make, easy to use, very tasty (I'm not a fan of marzipan or fondant when it comes to the taste). I made this with white chocolate and added a few drops of red food coloring to achieve a cherry blossom pink and make little cherry blossoms to top cookies with. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great, easy to deal with. Needed several colors si I prepared it with withe chocolate. When it was cooled I put in the different colors by rewarming the pieces a few seconds in the microwave, so it became smooth but still hard enough to handle with! Will definitively make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I would give this more stars if you had 'um!! I've never worked with anything but icing for decorating a cake with, but thought this looked easy enough. Used white chocolate chips and the mixture separated a bit when poured onto the plastic wrap, but that didn't bother me a bit! My daughter wanted a "big sub sandwich" instead of a cake for her 15th birthday, but made her a cake-sub. I used the "Plastic chocolate" to make the pickles, lettuce and tomatoes... WONDERFUL!!! TIP: Instead of using oil or powdered anything to roll this out, I rolled it out between a silicone mat and a piece of parchment paper -NO STICKING! Also, when it started to get a bit sticky from working with it, I wrapped it in plastic and popped it in the frig for a few minutes... Perfection! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
For the novice, like me, I found this challenging. I'm sure I just don't know the tricks of the trade. I didn't expect miracles, just cut-outs, but it was hard to roll out without it sticking (and I did use the cocoa). So, I wanted to say that it's hard for the novice, since the reviewers mostly rave about it. I suspect they know a lot more than I do and I'm sure it's easier to work with than other recipes. Just a heads up from a novice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this with white chocolate and was able to sculpt some pretty detailed items (jack in pulpit, dragon neck and head) very easily. This keeps amazingly well and is nice to work with. LOVE it! Definitely let it sit, wrapped in plastic, over night BEFORE trying to work with it. Much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good taste. It was easy to use & didnt melt when handled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria105

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sylvester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I think this is a great recipe. Soo easy to make. However, after two days, it was still a bit too soft. Don't know if it was maybe because of the warm weather here. Sooooo messy to work with that way. I made roses to decorate a cake, but had to refrigereate every half hour to an hour so it can be workable. I made all the little balls for the roses first, then refrigerated them before shaping. Maybe next time, I'll add less corn syrup, might work better. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Carriescows
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wow so easy! Don`t do what I did and wrap in a napkin to absorb tha greasiness I had fun picking the napkin back off! I found it easier to work with when left overnight to `set` the microwaved for 10 to 15 seconds to make it workable again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriescows

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I found this mix very greasy when I first started working with it (it might have been the chocolate i worked with) - to the point of having to squeeze it out and blot it with paper towel. After I did that - it was soooo easy to work with. I will never use gumpaste again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made exactly and it did harden over night but it becomes very hard to work with due to the chocolate melting while working with it. I am going to try working with it after chilling or maybe adding less corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States