Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very good. I changed the toppings according to what my family likes. Everyone really enjoyed these. Makes a quick and easy supper with a salad or a just a tasty snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
These are GREAT! I added some roasted red pepper, used green olives instead of black, and parm/romano. Perfect late lunch for two on a Saturday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I've made these for years, they're wonderful! a little tip - if you prefer a crispier pita - split the pita round in half so you have two rounds and as others have noted toast slightly before adding your toppings! baking time decreases of course with the split rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
These are great! I changed the toppings a bit, adding parmesan cheese, fresh basil, roasted red peppers and grilled asparagus. I cut each pita pizza into 6 pieces and served them at a party. We thought the crust tasted exactly like those we found on pizzas we ate in Italy. It was amazing...my friends couldn't believe that the "crust" was pita pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a great ans versitile recipie, you can also just take the pita and brush it with olive oil and add toppings or instead replace tomato sauce with alfredo. I used to make thesse for my high school lunch topped with all kinda of healthy steamed veggies and motzerella cheese. This is not for an elegant dinner, just a change from the plain old turkey sandwhich for bag lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! I loved using pita breads, it made a perfect crust. I used whole-wheat pitas and pizza sauce from Trader Joe's. I love blue cheese, but Dh doesn't, so on his pizza I used feta. The blue cheese tasted great with the other ingredients. I used jarred roasted red peppers (chopped) instead of pimentos. This is something I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Great idea! Pitas made a crispy crust and we used left over spaghetti sauce. We put the pizzas on the grill to toast the crust and moved it off the flame but left the grill lid closed to bake the cheese and toppings. Perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Great recipe. My husband loved them. I added Italian turkey sausage (cooked)to my pizzas and they were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a recipe where you can add any topping you like! I used chicken and green onion and peppers. I didnt have the "traditional" mozza cheese on hand so I used a little sharp cheddar. This is a great little snack that's quick to serve while watching a hockey game on TV, or as an appy at a party, or even as lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe is great. Its so crunchy and tasty.It save a lot of time and gives great results.Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States