Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These little pizzas are just fabulous! Try these tips though: first, purchase the thinnest pita breads you can find, and pre-toast them, rather than just warm them, in a 400 degree oven. Let them get ever so slightly crisped before topping them. This will result in a much better crust. Second, you can make your own pizza sauce which is much more flavorful than plain tomato sauce. Mix a small can of roasted garlic tomato paste with an 8 ounce can of roasted garlic tomato sauce. It is the perfect pizza sauce in both flavor and consistency, suitable for ANY pizza recipe. These little pizzas were really divine, an excellent appetizer for a party when cut into quarters. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I've made these for years, they're wonderful! a little tip - if you prefer a crispier pita - split the pita round in half so you have two rounds and as others have noted toast slightly before adding your toppings! baking time decreases of course with the split rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
These are great! I changed the toppings a bit, adding parmesan cheese, fresh basil, roasted red peppers and grilled asparagus. I cut each pita pizza into 6 pieces and served them at a party. We thought the crust tasted exactly like those we found on pizzas we ate in Italy. It was amazing...my friends couldn't believe that the "crust" was pita pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a recipe where you can add any topping you like! I used chicken and green onion and peppers. I didnt have the "traditional" mozza cheese on hand so I used a little sharp cheddar. This is a great little snack that's quick to serve while watching a hockey game on TV, or as an appy at a party, or even as lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe is great. Its so crunchy and tasty.It save a lot of time and gives great results.Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! I loved using pita breads, it made a perfect crust. I used whole-wheat pitas and pizza sauce from Trader Joe's. I love blue cheese, but Dh doesn't, so on his pizza I used feta. The blue cheese tasted great with the other ingredients. I used jarred roasted red peppers (chopped) instead of pimentos. This is something I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I buy pita bread from Costco that is absolutely wonderful and used it with this recipe. Since I was making it for my picky 5 year old, I had to skip all of the special toppings and just use spaghetti sauce and cheese. He still prefers Domino's but when were pressed for time, this will work. Thanks for the wonderful idea Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
these are the absolute best little pizza's ever! i have been making pita pizza's for awhile and just love them. the pita flat breads make a great crust. i agree on toasting them in the over first for 1-2 min. you can do just about anything with these, a few of my fav's are BBQ chicken and caprese pizza's. very easy (and fun!) to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
These are GREAT! I added some roasted red pepper, used green olives instead of black, and parm/romano. Perfect late lunch for two on a Saturday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I love idea of this. I topped the pita breads with our favourite pizza toppings rather than what was suggested and baked until the bread was crisp & cheese bubbly. Great for lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States