Pina Colada Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe, they were moist and tasty muffins. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique18951

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Call these muffins if you like, but in my mind these "muffins" are CAKE. Very good cake as a matter of fact. So delicious I tried to rationalize keeping them rather than gifting them to the people I made them for as a thank you. I didn't succeed. I can always make these again - and will. They're insanely good and deliver everything they promise - real tropical pina colada flavors of pineapple, rum and coconut. I used butter rather than margarine and a full 20 oz. can of pineapple because that's what I had in the pantry. Maybe that extra pineapple is what made them so especially good, chock full of pineapple in every bite. The butter and sour cream guarantee richness and a moist, tender crumb. To take these over the top (I mean why waste the drained juice?) I drizzled a simple glaze over the muffins of reserved pineapple juice and powdered sugar. My only thought, and one I'll be sure to remember as well the next time I make them, is because these are cake and not muffins, they bake much better at 350 degrees rather than 375. Even if not necessary, it sure can't hurt to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These were delicious! I substituted 1/4 cup of applesauce for the butter and doubled the rum flavoring. Fantastic! Next time I might substitute Splenda for the sugar and make them really healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The muffins are wonderful.very moist. I changed it just a little by adding extra rum extract and 1 tsp. of coconut extract.I also used a 20oz. can of crushed pineapple. I used dryed coconut chips in the batter and sprinkled sweetened shredded coconut on top before baking. the topping came out nicely toasted. I also sprayed the cupcake papers with Pam which kept the muffins from sticking to the papers.I will be making these agan..Reminded me of being at the beach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made these today and they were great! A wonderful balance of flavors. I tried the batter before it was baked and it tasted just like a pina colada...Mmmmmmmm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peggio
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I have used this recipe many times and love how light and fluffy these muffins turn out. I coarsely chop chunk pineapple, use actual rum instead of extract, add a cherry on top and sprinkle a little coconut over the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
An expert I am not, but I have learned important things along the way:Pack coconut.Pack it like you pack brown sugar.That's the proper way to measure.I don't know why it doesn't stress that on the coconut package.To the recipe,'Didn't have rum so added 1/2t almond extract.Increased pineapple to 20oz drained,coconut to 1 1/2c unsweetened;& added an additional 1/2t baking powder&2T oil.The batter seemed dry so I added 1/4c of the pineapple juice.'In oven topped with more coconut&it made 18. I'm anxious! :) Results:These are a light&tasty little muffins!Maybe just a little(just a little)too pineapply but I did use a 20oz can.The coconut extract leaves a nice aftertaste.Almond is subtle,may add more or not.May leave out the 2T oil next time,but not the pineapple juice.The coconut didn't brown as much as I'd like,but it was enough to take it from plain to interesting.They coulda been bigger muffs,but I doubt only 12 unless you have a larger base or you're a bigger fan of cleaning muffin tins than I am.:D Nice! 'Made these for MH for Mom's day 2013.One more note,a pineapple note:Some brands' crushed pineapple really is crushed.While others,Kroger,has larger pieces&crushed.I don't think I'd like as large as tidbits as other suggested.I'm not big on pieces of fruit in cake or muffins anyway - unless blueberries.Kroger brand gives a bit of concentrated flavor without the "oh" or "chew" factor. :? :) Family vote: Very good if we were pina colada lovers.No one liked the coconut feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Hands down, these are amazing muffins. Not sure what i was going to think of the rum, but between the pineapple, rum and coconut it all mixes nicely & so moist and fluffy. The flavor reminds me of a macaroon cookie. i also used coconut oil instead of butter. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
wow! so good! I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose, and also used peach yogurt instead of sour cream (because that is all I had) p.s. I added an extra 1/2 tsp baking soda because of the yogurt.. Even with these minor changes, these were amazing muffins, and a little healthier! A definite favorite in my house! next time the only change I would make is to add a touch more rum as we couldn't taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Made these for the team I coach. They all give this 5 stars and fought over who got the last one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States