Pierogi (Polish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I ended up adding a good bit more flour to be able to roll this dough out. It was sticky. Once I got it the way I wanted it, they did turn out good but huge. I think next time I will skip the baking powder as the other recipes I know to be good don't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Worked out perfectly and with that great authentic taste! I had a few people try and their eyes opening wide with the first bite told me all that I needed to know - wow factor! Thanks so much for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My Polish Grand Mother made these all the time, and she even added prunes that were soaked in hot water first before putting them into a Pierogi, talk about YUM...lol... Tab did up a great recipe here, just follow her directions...and for those maybe having a little trouble making them, try freezing them over night before you put them in the boiling water...sometimes they seal a bit better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Fantastic authentic Pierogies, and so simple to make! A great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, too! Perfect side dish for a venison roast with gravy. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Kussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love these. They remind me of holidays with my Polish relatives and I've started my own tradition by making them for Easter the last two years. Both fillings are delicious. We boil and then fry them for some extra yummy flavor and crunch. I used a pint-sized drinking class to cut out the dough - it was just about 3" across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
was very good used the dough and left over mash potatoes to make it. i dont think we will buy frozen one again. i did boil them then put in a pan to crisp up with some butter and seasonings. it was yum and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have been on a search for a pierogie that tastes like the ones from my hometown of Pittsburgh PA...having recently moved from there to East Texas..well..they don't even know what pierogies are here :(( and THIS is the recipe to give me the exact taste of home! Perfect! Thank you for posting it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was my first try at making Pierogis and they were excellent! My PICKY daughter ate 14 of them. Will definitely be making again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Thank you, this is a great recipe. It brings back good memories. The only 2 things I did differently were to use a whole milk organic plain yogurt in place of sour cream, and at the end I let them drip dry on a baking rack followed by a shallow pan fry in a cast iron pan to golden brown. When I boiled them, I did not let it boil too vigorously. I think a chunk of feta in the center of the potato filling would be a nice addition. I served them with freshly cracked black pepper, a dollop of the yogurt, and a warm lemon butter sauce. I am also curious to try a smaller version with an apricot filling and vanilla gelato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States